Top Ten Tuesday: Characters I Didn’t Click With (Sept. 1, 2015)

I originally stated that I was going to make this blog all about my writing and my novels, but hey, why not join the party? So, to ease myself into some trendy blog items I will start with The Broke and the Bookish‘s Top Ten Tuesday, which for this week is ‘Ten Characters You Just Didn’t Click With’.

Characters I Didn’t Click With

  1. Holden Caulfield in ‘Catcher in the Rye‘ by J.D. Salinger
    Frankly, I had an issue with this book in general, (partly because it was assigned reading in high school), but I really did not care for the main character, Holden Caulfield. He sounded like a whiney teenager who didn’t know how to face life and therefore decided to run away from it, at least to me. Perhaps I just didn’t get the ‘higher meaning’ of the book. I’m not sure. Whatever the case, not for me.
  2. Four in ‘Allegiant‘ by Veronica Roth
    I loved this series! And I loved the non-stereotypical dystopian ending. However, I had a serious issue with Four’s voice at the very end. I just… couldn’t get into it, (which is why I didn’t read the novella.)
  3. Sansa & Bran in ‘A Game of Thrones‘ by George R. R. Martin
    Sorry, but no. It had nothing to do with the fact that they were children’s voices. I just couldn’t handle how absolutely, terribly, and annoyingly whiney the two were. To be honest, I kind of wish that Bran had died during the accident. At least Sansa I can understand as being naive and ignorant, but Bran… Just no.
  4. Wells in ‘The 100‘ by Kass Morgan – Wells
    Rawr at Wells! Just Rawr! It’s not that he was a badly written character by any means. In fact, I really hate him! However, I hate that his personality is so conflicting because it kept me from really ever connecting with him.
  5. Katniss in ‘Mockingjay‘ by Suzanne Collins
    Uh… yeah. In the third book Katniss was a very non-character main character. To me it kind of felt like she lost her voice, her personality, her everything and, while I understand the plot basis and the character development behind that, it doesn’t make for a very good read. However, I do still love the ‘Hunger Games’ series and Katniss.
  6. Harry Potter in ‘Harry Potter & The Order of the Phoenix‘ by J.K. Rowling
    Yup. I said it. I absolutely am frustrated by Harry’s character in the 5th book because he is an annoyingly whiney(common theme, eh?) pubescent teen who just sits around and complains all t
    he time. While I understand that his life sucks at that time(because it kind of does), he just is constantly full of teen-angst. Teen-angst is cool, and a great plot element, but not throughout the entire book.
  7. Catherine Earnshaw in ‘Wuthering Heights‘ by Emily Brönte
    Another one of the high school reading list. Lack of personality in her character kept her extremely detached, which didn’t help since, being a timed piece, it was already going to be a difficult read. Either way, just no.
  8. Uh… I got nothing else. I know(judge me as you will), but I haven’t read nearly as much as I would’ve liked to this year. Hoping to catch up in the next few months! Maybe I’ll update this.
Leave a comment below! I'd love to hear from you!

