Top Ten Tuesday: Freebie! (Sept. 15, 2015)

What?! A freebie topic for ‘Top Ten Tuesday‘, you say? Why must you make things so difficult for me ‘The Broke and the Bookish‘? Well, if I must come up with a top ten list of my own then I guess I’ll snag one from your archives that I didn’t do, which happens to be ‘Books I Can’t Believe I Haven’t Read’.

Top Ten Books I Can’t Believe I Haven’t Read

  1. The Giver‘ by Lois Lowry
    Psh! I should’ve read this. Everyone and their mother seems to have read it and given that I consider myself to be squarely in the genre of ‘dystopian’ this should be one of the first books I’d have read for the genre. Along with the next two.
  2. Fahrenheit 451‘ by Ray Bradbury
    Yeah. I haven’t read it. I know, lame. I think my biggest reason for not having read this book was because of all the bad-rep that this style of book got from high school reading lists. Anything remotely close to it that I read in school was groan-worthy. However, now out of high school (for a few years), it’s probably about dang time that I read this.
  3. 1984‘ by George Orwell
    Another one to add to the ‘dystopian classics’ list. Again, this follows the genre of books I read in high school and detested beyond necessity. Yet, it’s one of the most well-known dystopian novels and that’s why it’s on my list and why it’ll be read as soon as I get around to finding myself a copy to buy and read(behind my giant list of other books I need to read :p).
  4. Ender’s Game‘ by Orson Scott Card
    To be honest, I don’t actually know much about this book besides the trailer for the movie and what people have told me about it. Though, it sits very squarely in the genre of science fiction, something I have little experience in, but wish to venture into. So, I think it’ll be a good addition to the books that I need to read in the near future to help broaden my horizons and deepen my knowledge… or some such thing.
  5. The Princess Bride‘ by William Goldman
    Completely out in left field with this one here! I loved the movie. It’s one of my absolute favorite movies(which I have a lot of, now that I think about it), and for that reason I’ve decided that I should read the book at some point. I don’t care if I saw the movie already. I think that books written before movies always have something to add and can be loved just as much as if they were read before seeing the movie.
  6. Cloud Atlas‘ by David Mitchell
    Again, a little out in left field here, but it seems like an interesting concept. I haven’t seen the movie yet and have only a vague idea what this book is about, but I’m intrigued enough to find out.
  7. Planet of the Apes‘ by Pierre Boulle
    This is a book?! Say what?! I absolutely love these movies and they’re one of my favorite sci-fis that I actually still own on VHS. Bam! I know. Though, I never knew that it was based off of a book- I thank my parents for not telling me that one- but now that I know I’m gonna have to go read it. Hey, maybe I’ll even know enough French by the time I get around to reading it that I can read the original version instead of the translated one. (Wishful thinking :p)
  8. The Scarlet Letter‘ by Nathaniel Hawthorne
    Honestly, I’m quite surprised that this wasn’t on my high school’s required reading list, especially given that half the other books that we were forced to read were dreadful. I’ve heard mixed things about this. However, being a classic I feel it’s necessary to actually read it rather than just know a few things about it.
  9. Charlotte’s Web‘ by E. B. White
    Just listing the book as never having read it seems strange, but it’s true. I know my brother had it on his shelf for years and I watched the animated movie many, many years ago(to where I only remember parts of it), but I never read this book and for that I feel like I missed something. Perhaps I’ll have to find a copy and read what I missed out on.
  10. The Lord of the Rings‘ by J. R. R. Tolkein
    Having scathed through countless lists of ‘books you should read by X age’ I have come to the conclusion that people think this series was a piece of genius that they put beside many classics. For that reason I’m adding it to the list. I have not read it. Why? I dunno. Perhaps the hype behind it was so big that I blatantly ignored it, or the movies were so long that I couldn’t even sit through those to decide whether I wanted to read it. Either way, haven’t read it. Maybe I will someday, but it’s one that probably won’t be on my list any time soon.

Wow! That list was actually a lot harder to compile than I thought it’d be. I mean, I actually had to search for books to put on this list because I couldn’t think of very many, partly because most of the books that people suggested were those I was forced to read in high school. Not sure if I should thank my high school lit teachers for that one, but apparently I’ve read most classics (at least those of the European variety). Either way, I’m still missing out on quite a bit of both contemporary and classic literature. I guess it’s time to get myself in gear and start reading!

How about you guys? Have you read all of these books already? Let me know in the comments!

3 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Freebie! (Sept. 15, 2015)

Leave a comment below! I'd love to hear from you!

