Monthly Update {October}

Ah! I’m so late on this! These past few days have been just absolutely insane! My pseudo-little sister (aka my foreign exchange student from five years ago) came into town on Monday because my brother was getting married. So we spent the whole time running errands and making sure everything and everyone was in place. After that we ended up cleaning up and spending a few days in Chicago.

So, the last few things I had on my edit/reading to-do list for October kind of got neglected. However, things are… going to be even busier in November. >.> Well, let’s see how October went and what we plan to get done in November. I will just be more focused this month! NaNo FTW! :p

octreview
Alright. I wasn’t quite as productive with my writing as I would’ve liked, but that’s okay. I read more books in October than the rest of the year combined and that, in itself, is an amazing accomplishment for me! I read a total of six books in October! That’s huge(for me)! So, I’m proud of that. Unfortunately, that means I didn’t devote nearly enough time to my writing this past month.

Glancing back I had set my goals for this month as editing three different novels. Big goals! (Ha! I’m a fool. :p) While I did manage to start edits on one of my novels completely and will be moving it onto betareader stage during November, my other two weren’t quite as successful. Though, in my defense, I was unable to edit one novel, ‘Sota Radiation’, because my betareaders were even busier than myself. So, that’s being pushed into November.

The other novel that I’d planned to edit this month kind of bit me in the face. :/ I sat down. I started reading. Then, I got a few chapters in and went o.0 because that was how bad it was. What I thought was going to be an easy edit ended up being a re-write and it deterred me from touching it. So, for now, I’ll be taking a step back from this novel due to time constraints and plan to do the re-write in December after NaNoWriMo. That sounds fair, yeah? :p

novgoals
Ah! November is going to be a huge month! It’s always my busiest month even before writing OR reading, which means I’m going to be swamped, but man am I looking forward to it! ^.^ I’m hoping to be super productive and to help prod me along in that endeavor is #NovWritingChallenge on Twitter and National Novel Writing Month! Woo!

That being said it is my goal this month to write the first 50,000 words to a brand new novel, entitled ‘Divers’. (Boring title, I know. :p Maybe it’ll change later on, but for now that’s what I’m going with.) It sits squarely in the young adult genre and the post-apocalyptic sub-genre. Woo! I’m super excited about this one and I hope that it goes well. Fingers crossed!

In addition to the 50,000 words for NaNoWriMo I hope to find time to do one of two things: edit ‘Sota Radiation’, which I sent to my betareaders in September, or pump out a first draft of ‘Stratagem’, which has sat idly in my Scrivener for far too long. So, that’s a minimum of two goals this month. Doable? We’ll see. :p

October Posts

Sunday Book Reviews
Day 21 by Kass Morgan – Oct. 4
The Heartless City by Andrea Berthot – Oct. 11
The Abyss Surrounds Us by Emily Skrutskie – Oct. 18
Gambit by C. L. Denault – Oct. 25

Monday Short Stories
Life Goes On(World of Radiation) – Oct. 5
Stolen(World of Radiation) – Oct. 12
Experimentation(World of Radiation) – Oct. 19
Beware the Unknown(World of Radiation) – Oct. 26

Top Ten Tuesday
Bookish Things to Quit – Oct. 6
Author Duos – Oct. 13
Wishes For the Book Genie – Oct. 20
Halloween – Oct. 27

Flash Fiction Friday
Fog – Oct. 2
Day to Night – Oct. 9
Moonlit Howl – Oct. 16
Crows – Oct. 23
Halloween – Oct. 30

Tags
Encouraging Thunder Award – Oct. 7
One Lovely Blog Award – Oct. 8
Confessions of a Writer Tag – Oct. 10
3 Days 3 Quotes | Day 1 – Oct. 23
3 Days 3 Quotes | Day 2 – Oct. 24
3 Days 3 Quotes | Day 3 – Oct. 25

Miscellaneous
October Book Haul – Oct. 3
50 Followers Oct. 11

 

I published 26 posts in October. 0.0 That is a lot! And I have even more planned for November (which I’ve already typed up and scheduled because #NaNoWriMo is going to devour my time. :p) But anyway, what do y’all think? Did I disappoint you because I didn’t edit all three novels in October? Or are you just bomb-diggidy excited for all my posts(48 of them badboys) in November?

P.s. If you’re participating in NaNoWriMo, feel free to add me as a friend!

2 thoughts on “Monthly Update {October}

Leave a comment below! I'd love to hear from you!

