Month of Thanks

Month of Thanks: Day 23

Day 23: Freedom

I have to bring this up because I am extremely lucky to have the freedoms that I do. I have the freedom to say what I want, where what I want, act how I want, vote for whom I want, write what I want, read about what I want. My freedom has given me the opportunity to work, to educate myself, to choose where I want to live, to choose whom I want to love. There are so many freedoms presented to me where I live and I take them all for granted.

There are so many people in this world who don’t even have freedom. They can’t say what they want. They can’t wear what they want. They can’t even vote, at all. Such a world is the type that we read about in Dystopian societies and yet these places actually exist in the real world today. It breaks my heart. To think that there are people who don’t have the freedom to even choose whom they want to spend their time with, or have the freedom to feel the sun on their faces because they live in impoverished, polluted, or even slave-like conditions, is terrible.

It’s these scenarios that reminds me just how lucky I am to have been born in a place where freedom is expected. Also, it reminds me how grateful I need to be for that fact. No one should be deprived of freedom.


List of Thanks

Day 1: Family
Day 2: Music
Day 3: Health
Day 4: Coffee
Day 5: Friends
Day 6: Language
Day 7: Pets
Day 8: Stories
Day 9: Fire
Day 10: Technology
Day 11: Snow
Day 12: Pain
Day 13: Diversity
Day 14: Nature
Day 15: Education
Day 16: Time
Day 17: Color
Day 18: Handwritten Letters
Day 19: Food
Day 20: Dance
Day 21: The 5 Senses
Day 22: Smiles

2 thoughts on “Month of Thanks: Day 23”

    1. Wow. I forgot how close you are to those attacks. Thank goodness you and your family are safe, and thank you for sharing that post. I think everyone should have a chance to read that. It’s truly sad that some people still live without freedom.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment below! I'd love to hear from you!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.