Days of Christmas

On the 11th day of Christmas…

advent11

Ice Skating

Ice skating isn’t really a Christmas tradition. In fact, when I was younger, my family hardly ever went ice skating. The only time I got to go was when it was for a friend’s birthday party, a girl scout troop outing, or a school field trip. Not that it bothered me. Ice skating was never my forte what with lack of balance, overly flexible ankles, and sliding across the ice only to smash my head into wall. (That one hurt.)

Even so, in my adult life I have found ice skating to be a miraculous and exciting experience. There is still that threat to fall. There’s still the possibility that I’ll fall on my butt or flat on my face, and yet that doesn’t scare me. The adrenaline that pumps through my veins while I’m flying down the straightaway is so intoxicating that it blocks out all fear.

Now, I’m still learning to skate. I’m not an expert, or even intermediate. I can’t skate backwards. I don’t skate on one foot. I don’t cross my feet when I skate and I most definitely am incapable of jumping or doing crazy spins, but that’s okay! I love it anyway. The freezing cold air rushing against my cheeks. The way the walls slip by as you whizz past. The gentle ache in your legs from all the movement. It’s all amazing and you don’t have to be a pro to enjoy it.

In fact, I just went skating on Wednesday with my brother and sister-in-law and it became all too apparent how bad I am at skating. :p I fell. Haha! The best part was that I wasn’t angry, or embarrassed, or any of those things people normally feel. Rather, I laughed at myself. It was hilarious! I fell while skating, but that’s not the important part. The important part is that I had fun. What’s Christmas spirit without a little fun?

That being said, ice skating is one of those activities that I’m making a Christmas tradition. (I kind of have to since I suck at skiing and snowboarding. :p) It’s only a few hours, but it’s some of the cheapest, most exhilarating hours on a Friday night and that’s better than sitting and watching a movie any night.

Movies To Watch
1) The Santa Claus
2) Unaccompanied Minor
3) How the Grinch Stole Christmas
4) Scrooged
5) Love Actually
6) Home Alone
7) Home Alone 2
8) Nothing Like the Holidays
9) The Holiday
10) Rise of The Guardians
11) Rudolph, The Red-nosed Reindeer
12) Frosty, The Snowman
Activities To Do
1) Decorate the Tree
2) Make Cookies
3) Build a Gingerbread House
4) Visit Christkindlmarkt
5) Ice Skating
6) Hot Cocoa by the Fireplace
7) Build a Snowman
8) Snowball Fight
9) Complete Holiday Puzzle
10) Read ‘A Christmas Carol’
11) Christmas Party
12) Participate in Secret Santa

Do you enjoy ice skating? What’s your favorite part about it?

Leave a comment below! I'd love to hear from you!

