On the 21st day of Christmas…

advent21That One Thing

While perusing the vast realms of the interwebs, I found many people offering up what one thing they needed for Christmas to be complete in their eyes. For me this was an interesting concept. I’ve never thought of one thing that was required for Christmas to be complete. I mean, Christmas isn’t just one thing, it’s many things: the lights, the decoration, the hustle and bustle, the carols, the food, the smells, etc, etc. So many things make up Christmas that the thought of just one thing making Christmas complete seems… odd.

And yet…

This year I realized what one thing I require for Christmas: snow. I grew up in Michigan. You know, the mitten state that’s surrounded by lakes and has constant lake effect that brings us unpredictable weather and tons of snow and rain? Yeah, that place. It’s where I’m from and I love it. I’ve grown up with snow. I’ve always had it. Maybe not always a lot, especially in more recent years, but it was always there. It was always glistening at me in the moonlight, blinding me in the sunlight, making my tires slide back and forth across the slick pavement. Because I always had it, I never realized how much I needed it.

But now I do. With El Niño throwing off my weather, warming it to the point where all my beautiful snow is melted to lawn-flooding rain, I realize how much I miss snow. It was always that one thing I wanted for Christmas. Not having a white Christmas, is like not having Christmas at all and it’s in this warm, rainy winter I’ve come to realize that it just doesn’t feel like Christmas without a fresh, white, glistening blanket of snow on the ground.

So, screw you global warming!
I want my snow back!

Movies To Watch
1) The Santa Claus
2) Unaccompanied Minor
3) How the Grinch Stole Christmas
4) Scrooged
5) Love Actually
6) Home Alone
7) Home Alone 2
8) Nothing Like the Holidays
9) The Holiday
10) Rise of The Guardians
11) Rudolph, The Red-nosed Reindeer
12) Frosty, The Snowman
Activities To Do
1) Decorate the Tree
2) Make Cookies
3) Build a Gingerbread House
4) Visit Christkindlmarkt
5) Ice Skating
6) Hot Cocoa by the Fireplace
7) Build a Snowman
8) Snowball Fight
9) Complete Holiday Puzzle
10) Read ‘A Christmas Carol’
11) Christmas Party
12) Participate in Secret Santa

What one thing do you need for Christmas to be considered ‘complete’?

Leave a comment below! I'd love to hear from you!

