New Years Resolutions

Michalah’s 2016 New Years Resolutions

2016 New Year’s Resolutions 

I typically don’t have New Year’s Resolutions. I begin the year with laying out my goals for that year and I go out and start accomplishing them. But now that all my academic goals have been accomplished I guess you could call me a wanderer. A leave in the wind and that metaphorical stuff. When I think about 2016 I think about the plans I have for my professional career, but as nothing has been finalised I find it’s hard to list the same ‘resolutions’ that I’ve been listing for the past couple of years. So in wanderer spirit, here are my 2016 resolutions.

 

1. Be Happy. 

Yes, yes, I know. This is slightly clichéd but happiness is always number 1 in my life. In 2016 I’m going to walk away from everything and everyone who brings negativity into my life and only bask in positivity. If happiness is at your core it filters into every aspect of your life.

 

2. Always be present. 

Being a blogger and being a social person means that I spent a lot of time on social media. Whether it’s uploading onto my (new) Instagram account, tweeting, or messaging friends to meet up. Social media is a large part of my life. And because my friends are bloggers, I’m constantly aware of how easy it is to get lost online and forget about the present. In 2016 I’m going to upload after and be present in the now.

 

3. Be me, whoever that is. 

Each day I see at least one post about how a woman should behave, dress or speak. And if I could, I would virtually slap that person. Society has certain expectations for everyone, and it is our choice whether we fall within those borders or not. I choose not. My identity is not set in stone and I am my only obstacle. The only version of myself I need to be is happy and that is the one I choose.

Michalah @ Cape Town Dreamer
2 thoughts on “Michalah’s 2016 New Years Resolutions”

Leave a comment below! I'd love to hear from you!

