New Years Resolutions

Aimal’s 2016 New Years Resolutions

Hi everyone! My name is Aimal, and I’m so happy and grateful to be a part of Melanie’s blog series this month. Thank you so much, Melanie, for reaching out and contacting me to be a part of this. It means the world!

As I try to get over the fact that 2015 came and went in what is, seemingly, the blink of an eye, I’ll share some of the things I’m looking forward to achieving in 2016. I usually suck at maintaining my resolutions, but for some strange reason, I think I might be able to stick with them this year. We’ll see though.
  1. In 2016, I will start eating healthy and exercising. This has been on my list for so many years now, but I have a weakness, and that weakness is pizza. I cannot stay away from pizza for more than a few days which makes this resolution very hard to keep. But this year, I’ll try breaking up with pizza. It was a good run, buddy. I need to move on to things that are good for me *ugly sobbing*
  1. In 2016, I want to write more. I have this strange affliction. I don’t write unless it’s for a class, and it’s weird because I love to write. I have a story under construction, but I haven’t touched it in months. Maybe because I feel like it’s not good enough or that no one will read it. I don’t know. I just want to start writing more original material. Maybe I’ll start with flash poetry and short stories and move into something bigger. I’m also hoping my Creative Writing workshop at college this semester will help me out with my endeavors.
  1. In 2016, I want to be consistent in posting on my blog. I started my book blog in January 2015, and I’m very happy with how it’s been doing so far. I have met some lovely people, and it’s so nice knowing that there are many people out there who share your interests and your opinions about things. But I have a problem: either I post every day for two weeks, or I don’t post anything in two weeks. I want to maintain a steady flow to my blog posts. Daily? I doubt it. But I do want to get out at least 5 posts a week. I also want to start doing more discussion-based posts!
Well, there you have it. Those are three of my top-priority resolutions. I have my fingers crossed that my will, which is usually made of mashed potatoes, transforms into iron. Mashed potatoes to iron. It seems impossible, but I’ll do it.
Happy New Year, everyone! I hope this year brings a ton of happiness and fun and health and success into your lives, because God knows, you all deserve it.

Aimal runs a blog at Bookshelves & Paperbacks. She’s a 90s kid, currently working towards an undergraduate degree in Applied Psychology. She loves to read, she loves to talk about what she reads, and she loves hearing about what other people read. Her interests include photography, music, Chaol Westfall and pizza. Um, scratch that. She’s working on getting rid of the pizza…

1 thought on “Aimal’s 2016 New Years Resolutions”

Leave a comment below! I'd love to hear from you!

