Flash Fiction Friday

Flash Fiction Friday: Harvest Moon

Into the night I step, the wind whistling against my ear like a siren’s summon.  My skin crawls. Goosebumps rise as if a fingernail trickles up my arm.

I tug my coat tighter. The extra layer does little to protect against the icy air. Nor does it preclude the shudder engulfing my body as I glance skyward where the once ebony moon hangs low as if it’s plummeted from the Heavens.

Orange like a pumpkin, it glows. In its shadows, the cruel, twisted smile of a ghoul dances, waiting to be carved, to be called forth, to be unleashed.

5 thoughts on “Flash Fiction Friday: Harvest Moon”

  1. Hi Melanie, I love your Flash Fiction Fridays. I’ve just begun to learn about Flash Fiction, and made my first attempt at writing one that will post on my blog this Friday.
    After reading some of your Flash Fiction posts, I have a question, and please, don’t take this as a criticism, I’m just trying to learn how to improve at my Flash Fiction, but many of your Flash Fiction pieces seem to leave the reader hanging, wanting more, like the story is incomplete. Is that the goal of Flash Fiction? I wrote my piece as a complete piece. It will probably leave the reader wanting more, but it is like the complete scene of a story. Did I do it incorrectly?
    I would appreciate any feedback and tips you could give me. Thanks.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello Kelly! Thank you so much for your lovely comment. ^.^

      As far as Flash Fiction goes, I think that’s really a matter of preference. Some people like to write the whole scene, give it a beginning, middle, and conclusion. However, my natural writing style is very open-ended. Thus, you see the lack of ending in my flash fiction pieces. That being said, there is no right or wrong way to write flash fiction, because the most important detail is letting your own writing style shine. Long as you did that, you can’t do flash fiction incorrectly.

      I hope this helps! ^.^ I look forward to reading your FF on Friday!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment below! I'd love to hear from you!

