Alex’s 2016 New Years Resolutions

Hi everyone! I’m Alex and I blog over at Fiery Reads. Melanie, the lovely owner of this equally lovely site, invited me to share my resolutions for 2016! I’m a bit of an ambitious person, so I have about a million different goals for the year, but here are 3 that I’m really, really hoping to achieve during the year.

1. I want to start writing regularly again.
Ever since I’ve started blogging, I’ve had basically no free time. Pair that with school, and I’m really stretched thin for time. It’s been a good two years since I’ve written regularly, and I want to change that because I love doing it so much. Reading and blogging are a lot of fun, yes–but writing is my one true love, the thing I keep coming back to, year after year, for nanowrimo. I want to just plot out a story again, sit down at my desk, and write. It’s going to be hard, getting back into that routine, but I know it’ll be worth it at the end of the day.

2. Write reviews for books immediately after I finish them.
I am terrible at this right now. Usually, I finish a book and just jump right into another one. Great for stats at the end of the year and whatnot, but definitely not good for my sanity, as my pile of books I need to review keeps growing bigger and bigger. If I review the book as soon as I’m done with it, I think I could be so much more productive (and less stressed out when it comes time to write all those reviews).

3. Be more social!
As I meet all these amazing bloggers and authors online, I realize I might be able to meet them in person someday! The thought is incredibly exciting, but also terrifying because I’m not what you would call a social butterfly. When I meet these people in public, I’m afraid I’ll mess up and say something dumb. Usually I’m quiet when I meet people, or worse, I don’t even say anything at all. This year, I want to try and push myself to ignore that social anxiety and just act like myself with other people, no matter how much I want to sit quietly and alone. This will be the year of bookish friendships, I can feel it, and I can’t wait to meet all of my new friends!

These are just a few of the resolutions I have for 2016! Here’s to hoping that the year will be filled with success and fun times. 🙂 Thanks again, Melanie, for inviting me to guest post!


Alex is a teenage bookworm that spends her days reading, writing, and playing field hockey (when she’s not furiously procrastinating her government homework, that is). Her favorite shows are Game of Thrones and How to Get Away With Murder, she’s a Slytherin, and she would give anything in the world to be half as badass as Celaena Sardothien. She dreams of being an author one day, but for now she’s content to read as much as her heart desires. You can find her blogging over at https://fieryreads.wordpress.com/, or on twitter at @alexs_bookshelf

One thought on “Alex’s 2016 New Years Resolutions

  1. Great goals, Alex! I’m also trying to write more regularly and review more books this year. 🙂 I’m also very shy, but I’ve made some of my best friends over the internet and ended up meeting quite a few of them in person! Good luck with everything.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment below! I'd love to hear from you!

