New Years Resolutions

Nicolette’s 2016 New Years Resolutions

Hello all! My name is Nicolette and I blog over at A Little Bookish, A Little Writerly. A little about me: I’m a writer, a book dragon, a mom and a total nerd! ^.^

This is my first guest post ever and I am both super honored and excited that Melanie asked if I’d be here today. Thank you, Melanie, for having me, inviting me to share your space, and giving me the opportunity to talk about resolutions in the New Year.

So, I’m going to be very honest with you and just put this out there…I’ve never been all that great at keeping New Year’s resolutions. I like to think a lot of people are like that but for me I know this has a lot to do with the fact that I typically don’t set realistic goals/resolutions for myself each year. Knowing this, last year I only set one resolution and *cringes * I didn’t even do it. I had resolved to enter into poetry/fiction contests but I ended up getting cold feet.

This year, my aim is to keep it simple and doable. To start the year off on the right foot, I decided to take a break from blogging. See my post Going on Hiatus Until Mid-January where I talk about the five areas of my life that I am going to be focusing on to implement the concept of “Practice Not Perfection” in order to live a more fulfilled life.

Today, I’ll be breaking my three resolutions into three categories: books, writing and blogging.

Books

I’m a big fantasy reader, but I know there are a ton of amazing contemporary books out there that I don’t even get around to reading. My resolution: Read at least 10 contemporary novels out of my total goal of 60 books read in 2016.

Writing

I am SO close to finishing draft 14 of my manuscript. There are still several steps to go before I feel ready to get it out there but I’m resolving that this will be the year. My resolution: Query agents and let go of this fear I have that everyone will hate my writing.

Blogging

I have the perpetual blogger problem of wanting to do 80 million things on the blog but not enough time. I’m the same way with books, I want to read ALL the books but there simply aren’t enough hours in the day. My resolution: Create and stick to a doable posting schedule and don’t lose sight of the fact that I blog for fun.

Well, there you have it! My three resolutions going into 2016. I’ll be returning to A Little Bookish, A Little Writerly on January 18th and I really hope to see you there when I reemerge from this (so far) incredibly productive hiatus.

In the meantime, I encourage you to create doable and manageable goals for your New Year’s resolutions and don’t lose sight of why you’re setting them in the first place. Most times we set these resolutions so we may become better and more happy versions of our current selves. I believe that in order to achieve great leaps we must first take small steps. So as you move forward into each day, take those small steps toward your progress and congratulate yourself on the small victories. In a year’s time, they will be so numerous you’ll wonder how they even accumulated!

Blessings and best of luck as we start this New Year with a bang!

Keep reading and keep writing,

💛Nicolette

4 thoughts on “Nicolette’s 2016 New Years Resolutions”

Leave a comment below! I'd love to hear from you!

