flash fiction friday
Flash Fiction Friday

Flash Fiction Friday: Price to Pay

I knew what I’d have to do. I knew the price I’d have to pay. I knew what I’d become, but that is the sacrifice I gladly pay.

“I pay it in mind.” My forehead presses to the top of the triangle inlaid in the cool stone. A shiver ripples down my spine.

“I pay it in spirit.” Air expels from my lungs, dragging the essence of the Fae from my body to brush against one point of the triangle.

“I pay it in blood.” Smearing my finger through the blood pooling on my palm, I paint the symbol of my people at the third point of the triangle.


Inspired by artist Charlie Bowater’s ‘The Gate‘ from Deviantart.

2 thoughts on “Flash Fiction Friday: Price to Pay”

Leave a comment below! I'd love to hear from you!

