top ten tuesday
Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday: 2016 Releases

Favorite 2016 Releases Thus Far

{Click book covers to view on Goodreads}

1. Highly Illogical Behavior by John Corey Whaley

I received this ebook in exchange for my honest review from Penguin Random House via First to Read. It’s a contemporary novel, which isn’t my normal genre. Yet, the concept was interesting. Something about a girl looking to fix a boy with severe agoraphobia sounded rather intriguing. Though, I’m big on psychology even if I don’t fully understand everything. I wanted to take a peek and see how another writer portrayed such a thing. So, I gave it a go.

I was not disappointed. While lacking in world development as is common among contemporary fiction, it made up for it with realistic characters and well-executed plot lines. This book is really one that has everything and even includes LGBT characters if you’re looking for that in particular. All in all, it was an enjoyable read.  To read more about why I gave this book 4-stars, read my review.


2. Arena by Holly Jennings

I received this ebook in exchange for my honest review from Penguin Random House via First to Read. As a science fiction novel that involves futuristic gaming, I was sold. I had to read it and it was an amazing read! Not only was it a fantastic concept dealing with full immersion virtual gaming, but it dealt with a lot of difficult everyday topics as well. The kind that are often spoken about: drug-overdoses of gamers, and the inability of people to take girls seriously in the gaming world. The realism mixed with the scifi made for an entertaining read.  To read more about why I gave this book 5-stars, read my review.


3. At the Edge of the Orchard by Tracy Chevalier

I received this ebook in exchange for my honest review from Penguin Random House via First to Read. I don’t talk much about historical fiction on this blog, but I do really enjoy books in this genre. It’s why I decided to request this book that’s set in mid-1800s United States. It was quite a unique read since it followed two separate generations from the same family in different decades. I think my favorite part of the book was the fact that the author obviously knew what they were talking about when it came to apple tree farming. So much so that I found myself wanting to grow apple trees. To read more about why I gave this book 5-stars, read my review on July 3rd.


4. The Abyss Surrounds Us by Emily Skrutskie

I received this ebook in exchange for my honest review from Netgalley. I was drawn it at once with the concept of genetically-engineered sea monsters used in a dystopian world to protect ships. Yet, the character development over the course of the book was what kept me going. This book is really one that has everything and even includes LGBT characters if you’re looking for that in particular. To read more about why I gave this book 4-stars, read my review.


Deary me. I only managed to enjoy 4 books that were released this year. I have read a few more, but they weren’t of note, but I’d love to hear if you any suggestions for me! I’m always looking for new books to read! Let me know in the comments below! Or leave me a link to your TTT!

Have you read any of these books? Let me know what you thought of them in the comments below! 

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: 2016 Releases”

    1. I was actually really surprised with how much I like it, since contemp isn’t normally my genre. But I thought it was great, especially the ending (which I don’t want to spoil in the comments). But the not-perfect ending is one of my favorite items in literature. ^.^

      Like

      1. I think I felt like the ending was a bit abrupt, but thinking back it could also be because I just didn’t want the book to end – I loved the characters so much! And there’s something to be said about imperfect endings for sure. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Nah. I could totally see it feeling abrupt, but the lack of concrete conclusion definitely added to it. What happens to the characters later isn’t necessary for the conclusion of this story. That’s the key.

          Like

    1. If you enjoyed ‘The Abyss Surrounds Us’ I think you’ll enjoy ‘Arena’ as well. Personally, I think it was one of my favorite recent reads, but I’m also big into the idea of full immersion video games. :p If you do find time to read it, let me know your thoughts!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment below! I'd love to hear from you!

