My life in a box… literally o.O

I’m moving to Georgia!

Haha! This is just a joke in my family, but I find it pretty funny given that I’m moving down to Georgia today! That’s right! At this very moment I’m in my car, all loaded down with boxes, making the fourteen-hour drive to the land of peaches. (I think that’s what they’re known for down there, right?)

And as I sit behind the steering wheel, I come to realize something rather… odd. Depressing some would say: my entire life fits inside a single 16′ truck. -.- Every piece of furniture. Every article of clothing. Every knickknack I can’t seem to part with has been shoved into one very large box. Kind of a crazy thought, huh?

Who would’ve thunk that I could cram 23 years worth of life into a budget truck? What does that say about me? I mean, when you look at it all, filling that once-large space, it seems like a lot, but it really isn’t is it? And the strangest part yet: it’s just stuff!

I got a couple chairs, a bed, a table. I got three boxes of books. Two boxes of DVDs. I got some arbitrary kitchen supplies my parents pawned off on me when I moved out (mainly old camping supplies :p). I got a half-dozen board games. I got pillows up the wazoo. I have a handful of boxes of clothing, even some cosplay costumes buried in there, but what does it all mean?

Is it an accomplishment that I have this much stuff? Is this much stuff a small amount or a big amount? Does that reflect on my life style thus far and does it say something about me as a person? Psh! Heck if I know, but it’s still kind of crazy to shove it all into a 16′ x 6′ x 6′ box. It’s kind of insane to think you can literally pack your life up and move to a new place.

At the end of the day, I don’t have an answer for these questions. I don’t know what my box and its contents says about me, especially because I’m more focused on my amazing family. They agreed to drive all the way down to Georgia with me (even drive the truck for me.) So maybe the contents of my box don’t matter, after all. Maybe it’s the people willing to move my box that determine the kind of person I really am. Here’s hoping. :p

Well, I move into my new apartment tomorrow down in Georgia. I’ll be spending probably the whole week trying to unpack and get things organized, but I’ll have another update for you next Saturday! Tune in!


And if you have any questions, or just got something to say about packing up your life and moving, let me know in the comments below! I’d love to hear from you!

4 thoughts on “My life in a box… literally o.O

  1. Have a great move. My first ever move was to go to university. I was going to live in a furnished flat. I filled up a big suitcase with my favourite clothing, shoes, some books (just a few), all my CDs (I had sooooooo many), some kitchen knives.
    Three years ago I moved out completely (erm there are still a few things residing at my dad’s house, who lives up the street, mainly books because my books take up space I don’t have. I don’t know how much volume our things take in, but it seems ridiculously little for a family of three.
    My many moves in the past mainly to other countries have led me to not keep many things. Sometimes I do regret that I have cleared out a bit too much. But I am not slowed down by things as much as others.
    You have a great family, not everyone helps their kids move…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for telling me about your experience, Solveig. I can’t imagine leaving so much behind even if most of the stuff I won’t look at for a few years or until I’m feeling nostalgic. Thankfully, my parents are still able to hold a few things for me since my new apartment has no extra storage space, but I did demand to take all my books because I like to have them on display. (Too bad I don’t have enough shelves and now half of them are on the floor. >.>)

      I am grateful for my family and their willingness to put up with a 14hour drive with me (which turned into a 20 hour drive by the time we got the tire replaced on the moving truck and almost destroyed my car with retread in the middle of the highway). It was chaotic. We didn’t always get along. Tempers were cut short, but everyone made it safe and sound and by some miracle nothing was broken. Honestly, I couldn’t have asked for a better move and I know it wouldn’t have gone so smoothly without my family. I just wish they could’ve stayed longer. :p

      P.s. I don’t know how we humans take up so much space either. I have a two bedroom apartment… for just me… >.> It makes me feel like a pack rat or something. Haha!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I consider myself a pro at moving by now to be honest haha. And most of my moves have been cross-continent which are a doozy let me tell you. First I moved from my first home in Barquisimeto, VZLA to my grandma’s house for three months before moving to the US. While in San Diego, I moved from an apartment to a house and then to another apartment. And then my mom and I moved back to Venezuela, stayed in my grandma’s house again and then moved again to another house.
    What always astounds me is how much stuff I manage to accumulate and how much I have to give away or throw away when I move again. I find it really hard, still, to pack up my entire life and put it in a suitcase. How do I know which memories will matter the most when I’m older? I’ve found myself thinking of certain things and trying to find them, only to realize that I didn’t think it was important enough to keep. I don’t what that says about me, when I put so much value in material things and the memories attached to them but it makes moving a special experience.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh dear! That does sound like quite a doozy, Sara and I don’t envy you the long moves. 14 hours in a car, much less a moving truck is not a fun task. I can’t imagine moving to a different country, much less any of the paperwork or what not that needs to accompany it.

      And I agree with you. I’ve had a few moves in the last two years and each time I found myself going through boxes over and over again and wondering ‘do I keep it?’ It’s really hard to determine what to keep and what not to keep because at the end of the day it really is just ‘stuff’. However, I think you put it rather well with ‘memories’. Memories are the key reasons to hold onto stuff and if I can’t remember where something came from, then I imagine it’s not as important as the stuffed animal my grandma gave me. The stuff isn’t really a big deal. Rather, it’s what it means to you.

      I think that’s why it’s so hard to get rid of things, especially childhood things because they are attached to such an important time in our lives and we may have lost people since then. Reasons why I have at least three boxes full of childhood artwork, christmas and birthday cards, and random notes from family members when I was away at camp. Is it a waste of space? To some, but to me, it’s like a timebox I can go back and look at and remind myself of the people I love and the memories we shared.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment below! I'd love to hear from you!

