Monthly Update {July}

updates

Well, this was supposed to be out way earlier, but I ended up buying more items for my house because I couldn’t find any of my baking pans. *headdesk* And I finally got off the floor (because I’m weird and don’t sit in the chairs I own) and bought a couple more lamps… (But I’m still sitting in the dark… >.> Don’t judge me.)

Either way! Here is my monthly update for July! This is going to be pretty sloppy and I apologize. August should be WAY better… and on time… and prepared… and. OH! Just roll the tape!

Writing

Um… I… well you see… the thing is… >.> Okay. I didn’t get much done. I DID re-vamp chapters 1-10 on my book because I finally dug myself out of my ‘I’m amazing’ hole and realized they were garbage! So, I did get some work done… A bit… >.> There’s still a lot to do, though. However, with grad school starting this week, I can’t say whether any of my novels-in-progress will be touched this month. Aka I’m not setting goals. We’ll see how it goes. (If you can’t tell, I’m setting the bar REALLY low… Ahem.)

Reading

YEAH! You remember back when I was all like ‘I’m gonna read 8 books this month! Watch!‘ and then suddenly July was gone?! Yeah. That happened. Now, granted, I was packing, and moving, and entertaining family. Still, I did actually manage to read 5 of the 8 books I set out to read last month! 5! That’s a killer number for me the slowest reader on earth  <– Hey! Who put that in there!

What I’m trying to say is I’m rather proud of myself for reading that many books. Could I have read more? Oh, definitely. I can’t count the number of hours I wasted watching ‘Supernatural’ or having movie marathons with my brother and sister-in-law. But those are necessary things when you’re about to move away from people!

Blogging

I did a couple new things in the blog-o-sphere this month! Including doing a collab with Lilyn over at Scif & Scary! The two of us have always wanted to discuss books more with people and in order to do that we created ‘Dare to Discuss?!Every other month, we’ll pick a book to discuss and we invite everyone who’s read it to join … if you dare! 0.0

Another trial run I did this month was also in regards to book reviews. Not many people comment on book reviews (or read them for that matter), especially mine since they’re quite long. To remedy this, I tried a new review style. No format, just 3-4 paragraphs discussing my thoughts of the book. I did this to see what people thought and whether they preferred the format. Unfortunately, I didn’t get a lot of feedback (or any. >.>) So, I may have to try it on another book review here in the future. If you have thoughts, leave them below!

Lastly, I started hosting discussions! I have always loved getting involved in discussion posts on other bloggers’ sites and thought ‘heck! I should try this!’ So, I did and I’m LOVING it! I got some amazing responses on my first discussion post and it has compelled me to continue. In fact, I might even do themes for each month. By the way, August discussions are all going to be about book characters. So, tune in! Or check out the one from this week!

Aaaaand, last but not least I did my very first author interview with Katherine Bogle! It was such a great experience and Katherine was so patient and understanding that she was my first interview. It really made the whole thing awesome and I hope I get to do more author interviews in the future! They’re tons of fun! And a great opportunity for new, up-and-coming authors! Make sure you check out her interview and her book, HAVEN.

Book Reviews
At the Edge of the Orchard by Tracy Chevalier{5 stars}
Extras by Scott Westerfeld{5 stars}
{Mini-Review}Annihilation by Jeff Vandermeer{3 stars}
Annihilation by Jeff Vandermeer{3 stars}
Haven by Katherine Bogle{4 stars}
Leaving Lucy Pear by Anna Solomon{2 stars}

Novel World Stories
Intimidation
Apologies All Around
Rescuer
Accusation

Top Ten Tuesday
Books w/ fewer than 200 ratings on Goodreads
Bookish Facts About Me
Books Inspired Me To…

Discussions
{Highlights} Hype = Book Death?
Book Clubs
{Highlights} Book Clubs
Fanfiction
{Highlights} Fanfiction
Ebooks
{Highlights} Ebooks
Blog Memes

Japan
Okayama
Japanese Food: Onigiri
Being a Minority
Japanese Food: Croquant
Could I live in Japan?
Japanese Food: Anko
Geisha, Geiko, and Maiko
Japanese Food: Mochi vs. Dango vs. Daifuku

Flash Fiction Friday
Pixels
Demon
Flush
Puff
Smile

Interviews
Katherine Bogle, Author

Musings
Pokemon Go Basics
{Review} Pokemon Go!

Updates
Quarterly Reading Challenge{Apr-Jun}
Unrealistic Expectations
I’m  now on ‘My Trending Stories!’
A July TBR, what?!
Dare to Discuss?!
My Life in a box… literally o.O

WAM! BAM! THANK YOU MA’AM! That is 43 posts in July. Not bad. Not bad. Not my record, but still a decent number of posts, especially since my brain was pretty much MIA the whole month. I can’t at this time say whether August will be this spectacular, but I’m hoping I can impress you guys!

Let me know in the comments below what you think of the new posts I did and definitely tell me if you want more! I love to hear from you guys! ^.^

Leave a comment below! I'd love to hear from you!

