Life Decisions: Science vs. Art

This week was filled with a menagerie of events. Most of them I had little to no control over, but one was entirely in my hands and I… kind of struggled with it. Why did I struggle? Well because it came down to finding a balance between science and art.

As you should know by now (unless you’ve been living under a rock while reading my blog), I started grad school this month. It has been the centerpoint of my life over the past few weeks. I’ve had to find an apartment, sign-up for classes, find my parking lot, do experiments in lab, participate in discussions, etc, etc. Yet, life can’t always be about school. There is more to it. In order to find balance in my life, I decided I would get back into theatre.

Reality crushed my Daydream

With an audition on August 8th, a callback August 9th, and a role offer on August 11th, I was super excited! Until reality dawned on me. This show is a ‘tour’ meaning it goes to local schools and performs during school hours, aka the time I’m supposed to be working in lab all day. On top of that, performances run from September to March! 0.0 I was all like: ‘well, there’s goes that plan.’

Yet, the theatre company was willing to work with my crazy, packed schedule. They changed to night rehearsals and double cast my roles with another girl who also can’t make all the performances. This way we can both participate, but still have time for reality. With this in mind (and a conversation with my level-headed brother), I accepted the role and went to my first cast rehearsal this past week.

Just what I needed

It was exactly what I’d been missing. I loved being a different person, filling into a role, and the atmosphere of acting. It’s also a great reminder to be silly and fun and not care what others think all the time. It makes life so much easier when you can just be… you. (Or in this case, your character.)

Find your balance

I guess what I’m trying to say is, make time for the things you love. Life can’t always be about work or duties or responsibilities because we are not designed to only work. Life is worth enjoying. So, go enjoy it!

Find your balance and remember to always be you, not what others want you to be because you’ll be a lot happier at the end of the day. You’ll also find out who your true friends are and I don’t know about you, but I’d rather be friends with people I know like me for me than friends with people who don’t even know me.


Have you already found your balance?
Tell me about it in the comments below! ^.^

10 thoughts on “Life Decisions: Science vs. Art

Leave a comment below! I'd love to hear from you!

