1 Year Blog-o-versary!

Blog-o-versary!

What?! It’s been a year already? I honestly can’t believe where the time has gone, especially with all the life changes over the past year, which made for a great year of blogging. Not to mention, blogging was such a great way to keep myself accountable to my goals and actually reading books. :p

Original Intent

When I started this blog its intent was for my novels. I wanted to have a writer website where agents, publishers, and potential readers could find me in the event I ever actually finished a novel. Well… I haven’t finished a book. No doubt part of that is because I’ve been so busy blogging. :p But I don’t regret it. Looking back on it, I don’t think my books were ready. I don’t thinkย I was ready.

Will I ever be ready? I dunno, but having spent the last year in a variety of situations all across the globe, I can say I am wiser and more open-minded than when I started this blog. It has really brought light some WIP, which I believed to be done. Ha! What a fool I was. :p

Blog Modifications

That being said, the focus of my blog has shifted a little bit. I’ve come to realize the opportunities my blog offers to connect with other bloggers and blog readers. One of my favorite ways to interact so far are via bookish discussions. For about two months now I’ve been hosting discussions and Iย love them! I will continue to do them in the future since I’ve gotten such great feedback. However, there are a few weekly posts on my blog which I’m not too sure about keeping.ย 

With that on the table, I want your opinions. My blog, while primarily for my enjoyment and a means of accountability, is also a way to entertain you guys. I’ve learned a lot in the 12 months I’ve been blogging. I’ve done some good things. I’ve made some mistakes, but we all have room to grow and I want to know what ways I should grow next. That’s why I request that you fill out the short 10-question surveymonkey for me and give your honest opinions about my blog and what should be improved/discarded.

Looking to 2017

Ultimately, it will be my decision on what stays and what goes, but knowing what you guys enjoy reading is important to me, too, (especially if I’m not enjoying writing it right now. :p) Please fill out the survey and if you feel so inclined, leave comments on it. ^.^ I love hearing from you guys and interacting with you guys and I’ll probably post the results in a couple weeks and maybe some spoilers for re-vamps I have planned for 2017!! hee hee! *hides away secrets*


P.s. I’m terribly sorry I can’t host a cool giveaway like so many other blogs do on their 1-year anniversaries. However, with just recently moving cross-country and starting grad school and buying furniture for an apartment (which I may post about in a weekly update), I am a little tight on cash. :/ I apologize and I hope you can forgive me when I post my holiday-themed posts this coming Fall/Winter. Hee hee! I told you I have secrets. :p

Anyway, thank you all again for supporting me over the last twelve months of blogging and I hope we can continue to interact and grow together over the next twelve months! Lots of devilish love from me, Melanie! :p *seriously needs an evil smiley face*

Help me improve my blog!

16 thoughts on “1 Year Blog-o-versary!

  1. It’s been great following you more closely recently. I must catch up with more of your posts, but I’m short on time too. I didn’t know people give things away for their blogoversary.
    Consider your questionnaire filled out! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah! A lot of book bloggers tend to do book giveaways for their 1-year anniversaries or for special goals they’ve reached like 1,000 followers, but those people must have much more money than me. :p

      And I see you filled it out! Thank you, Simon! No worries. The ‘novel’ stories I post on here aren’t even in my book. They are pre-novel time. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I did fill it out, I made sure I kept it light hearted ๐Ÿ™‚
        I’ve been told before about putting your work on here if you want it in a novel, if you put too much up on any social media a publisher won’t touch it.
        Just so you know ๐Ÿ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Oh. I know. I’ve discussed with a friend who has her own publishing house. The characters, settings, and time periods are completely different from the book. And these were written before I made some serious changes to the novel. But they’re not ‘in’ the novel, just the novel world. Like Cassandra Clare and her two series: The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices.

          Liked by 1 person

        1. Oh! I’m not a huge fan of Pumpkin Spice Lattes, but my favorite coffee shop back home has a ‘Chumpkin’. It’s chai tea and pumpkin syrup in a latte! Mm! I could die for that. It’s sooo creamy!

          And the interwebs led me in the erotica direction. >.> Darn interwebs.

          Liked by 1 person

  2. Congratulations my friend! I can’t believe we have anniversaries so close together. I’m so happy that I stumbled across your blog and now have you as a friend. I can’t wait to see what’s in store for you and your blog coming next year.
    And when you publish a book, I hope to have an ARC in my mailbox ๐Ÿ™‚ haha

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha! Thank you for all your friendship and support, Sara. It’s really been fantastic over this first year and I do look forward to supporting each other more in the future. ^.^ I can’t guarantee when that ARC will be arriving, but I will surely let you know and send you a copy. Hee hee!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment below! I'd love to hear from you!

