discussion highlights
Discussion

Discussion Highlights: NaNoWriMo

Last Week’s Discussion:
NaNoWriMo

In honor of National Novel Writing Month, I decided to host a discussion on it. After all, I’ve partaken in it in previous years and I know some writer friends who are partaking in it this year. However, I no longer plan to participate and I felt it was necessary to explain why. I got some interesting responses from my discussioners regarding my thoughts. Let’s see what they had to say!

JR said:

“This will be my first time participating in NaNoWriMo. As we start this adventure, I have two novels and a novella done and edited (okay, one is still with the editor). What I plan on getting out of this is not knowing how to FINISH a novel, but in writing full time while also doing the business side of writing.”

DM Wiltshire said:

“I have never taken part in a NaNo and I don’t think I will. This year I thought I might try my hand in it. I’ve heard good things and not so good things. […] I can see the benefits for new or upcoming writers to get involved with something like NaNo as they give you a chance to learn from others in the community, but for someone that has an established writing style/ readership I don’t think I’m in need of that. “

I was intrigued to see writers on both side of the fence in this particular conversation. It brought both sides of the discussion to the table: the benefits of NaNo and the practicality for most experienced writers. Whatever the case, NaNo is a personal preference and meant to be both fun and motivating. If you think it’ll work for you, great! But remember, the writing doesn’t stop after November. ^.^


Check out this week’s discussion on Thursday at 10am EST:
Stereotypes in Fiction

1 thought on “Discussion Highlights: NaNoWriMo”

Leave a comment below! I'd love to hear from you!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.