Days of Christmas, Guest Posts

Christmas in Australia, this is how we do it

advent1I was so excited when Melanie asked me to write a guest post for her! I love her blog, and while this is probably weird to read as you’re reading it from her page, I definitely recommend following her! I love engaging with all her different discussions – especially October’s Halloween-themed ones.

For Christmas, Melanie asked me (and I imagine plenty of others) to share a ‘tradition’, of sorts, that we also do at Christmas. I don’t really complete the same Christmas tradition anymore – mainly because I’m married now, so I have two families – but it’s still my favourite tradition, and it’s one of my most cherished memories.

Christmas in my family has always been like the 12 Days of Christmas. Not in the literal sense, and not even in a Christian sense. (My mum’s Christian, but my dad’s an atheist, through-and-through.)

For the exception of one of my aunts, we were never close to my mum’s side of the family, and mainly spent time with my dad’s side of the family. As a result, my ‘family’ became a lot of my parents’ close friends – many of which I still consider, quite strongly, family.

My parents love celebrating, especially my father. He’s incredibly friendly, and he likes to include everyone in everything. And over Christmas, it’s like my dad’s on steroids: he tries to organise events to have an opportunity to catch up with everyone, which I love.

We have so many “Christmases” with so many different people (both before and after Christmas). There’s always an abundance of alcohol (Australia), though I’m like the black sheep in my family (and all of Australia – I rarely drink, and I only drink wine) and food.

My favourite part is all the seafood.

Australia’s extremely hot over Christmas – it often reaches the late 30’s/early 40’s in temperature[Celcius] (at least it does in Queensland, but also pretty much all of Australia), so we don’t often have hot food. We have prawns with cocktail sauce, oysters, lobsters, crabs, smoked salmon … so many delicious things.

And it continues, for days, because my family loves people. (Which is something I can’t relate to, I hate people. But I always leave my bedroom – if I’m home – for food. I’m only half-joking.)

But I love it. I love everything about it. Christmas for me is about family and friends (and food). I love the tradition my family has created, and when my husband and I have a bigger house (and aren’t renting), I certainly hope that I can continue it.


Carla Louise is a 27-year-old Australian who blogs over at The Melodramatic Confessions of Carla Louise. She makes it her mission to provide The Facts for her readers regarding many controversial issues so that each and every person may be well-informed and make educated decisions. You can also check her out on Facebook & Twitter(@CarlaLouise01)!

10 thoughts on “Christmas in Australia, this is how we do it”

  1. Hey Melanie, if you want me to do anything for this Christmas thing I will! I’m from Australia like Carla, but from the south-eastern corner, Victoria. It still gets blinking hot, but takes longer. I love the summer and the heat – I wouldn’t know what to do with myself with a white Christmas. My favourite Christmas carols are those that are a) some religious ones (I’m progressive Catholic); b) Southern-based (i.e. no snow, focus on bush etc.); c) neutral (i.e. no snow, no bush, just general Christmassy stuff).
    😀 I love Christmas.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I completely understand what the heat is in Christmas, I live in Argentina and here we are entering on the summer so it’s very hot in Christmas and New Year, I don’t bother it at all, love the summer haha :). But at the same time it’s so wird, when I want to read a Christmas book and I see that it’s snowing I always have the feeling that I live in the wrong place hahaha. I hope you have a happy Christmas and prospery New Year !

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you for sharing! I imagine it must be very strange for people living in the Southern Hemisphere to always read about Christmas with snow and then never have Christmas with snow. And us Northerners never think about what it must be like down there, but it’s really cool how the traditions change because of it! Merry Christmas and have a happy New Year!

      Liked by 2 people

  3. This is such a great introduction to the Christmas series!

    One of my close friends has family in Florida, and apparently one of their annual traditions is to take Christmas beach walks. Since it is so warm there, I suppose they can do that. I’m from the American Midwest originally though, and the thought of getting anywhere near a body of water in December seems like a terrible idea. (Frostbite for everyone!)

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Bahaha! You’ve never done the polar plunge on New Year, Kristen? The Midwest would be a great spot to get hypothermia. :p

      And as a Midwesterner currently living in the South, it’s very strange. It’s actually raining outside right now. IN DECEMBER! My brain is just like: “Nope. Not right.” :p I can’t imagine it being as hot as in Australia. The above freezing temps here are bad enough.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Hey Carla! Great post!

    The first thing I’d wondered when seeing Melanie’s post about this blog post on Twitter was how Christmas would be for me if it were to take place during the Summer! I don’t know how I would cope with 30 degree weather during the holidays! Haha. But, I could get used to the seafood! I love seafood.

    Also, I get what you mean about family friends becoming like family! My family is the same. Here in Canada we don’t have a lot of blood family with us at all, so my parents’ friends became part of our family in a sense.

    Liked by 3 people

Leave a comment below! I'd love to hear from you!

