flash fiction friday
Flash Fiction Friday

Flash Fiction Friday: Shame

No one was ever supposed to know. They were never supposed to find out. It was my secret. My shame.

Steam rises from the teapot, still hot from having been freshly brewed. Yet, no one remains to drink it. No one remains to join me, to laugh with me, to talk with me, to enjoy their blissful ignorance. A minor slip-up saw to that. A sliver of exposed skin shattered the illusion.

A tear looses from my cheek, dripping into my palms. I smudge away the water. I wipe away the self-pity. I inhale, rebuild my mask, and rise. A new past, a new life, a new identity awaits.


Inspired by artist WLOP’s ‘Jade‘ from Deviantart.

1 thought on “Flash Fiction Friday: Shame”

Leave a comment below! I'd love to hear from you!

