discussion highlights
Discussion

Discussion Highlights: Santa or Not to Santa

Last Week’s Discussion:
Santa or Not to Santa

With this past Sunday being Christmas, I thought it would be a fun discussion to talk about whether to raise children to believe in Santa or not to. After all, being a child comes with lots of opportunities for growth and molding of young minds. And imagination often begins with believing in fairy tales. So, should we raise children to believe in Santa or not? Let’s see what the discussioners had to say.

DM Wiltshire said:

“I think there is a clear difference between lying to your children and maintaining their innocent imagination. […] I don’t think the children look at it as “mommy and daddy lied to me” but instead, “mommy and daddy still believe in these things as an adult”.”

Flavia said:

“I would definitely Santa just because I remember what a happy time my life was when I believed in Santa and I would want my kids to experience the same thing. Life is too short, and I think that it’s very important for children to have time to be CHILDREN.”

Not very many bloggers seemed to have an opinion, but those who did would agree with me: It’s best to teach children to believe in Santa. After all, they’re children. They don’t need to grow up too fast and face reality all at once, and it’s during childhood that we learn to use and adapt our imaginations. (and we can always use more writers in the world. :p )


Check out this week’s discussion on Thursday at 10am EST:
Love at First Sight

Leave a comment below! I'd love to hear from you!

