Monthly Update {December}

updates

Writing

I have found inspiration at last! Through some miracle (aka a conversation with a friend), I managed to find my writing self once more. As such, I have started re-writing a scifi novel I pushed away a few months ago, and I’m setting a finish date for this draft of January 31st. While I don’t think I’ll have much issue meeting that goal, I don’t mind little poking a prodding from you all to keep me on track. ^.^

Reading

Books! Books! Books! I took a little time off from reading this month to settle myself before the Dumbledore’s Army Read-a-Thon(link at the bottom of the list). Even so, I read a handful of books this month (good and bad), and I topped out my total number of books for the year at 46! I think that’s a new record for me, which means my Goodreads goal for next year will have to be 52! One a week should be a good goal, yes? Here’s hoping!

Blogging

Woo! Was December a whirlwind for blogging or what? Not only did I post my regular content of book reviews, discussions and highlights, flash fiction, and serial fiction, but I also hosted 22 bloggers for my 25 Days of Christmas series! It was a bit of a scramble to get some of those last posts prepped and ready to go, but I think it went off with a bang and I couldn’t more thankful to all of those amazing bloggers and artists!

Also this month I managed to elude enough people into thinking my blog was fancy and worth reading to bring me to 500 followers! Not a bad number for just over a year of blogging! Again, I’m so thankful to all my readers and hope to share lots of brand new content with you in the new year! (P.s. I still take discussion suggestions!)

Book Reviews
Ever the Hunted by Erin Summerill {1 star}
Dream A Little Dream by Kerstin Gier {5 stars}
Cinder by Marissa Meyer {4 stars}
Fate of Flames by Sarah Raughley {3 stars}

Novel World Stories
Silencing Waters
I’ll Be Your Spy
Healer
We need a Favor

Discussions
Book Hoarding
{Highlights} Book Hoarding
Shelf Organization
{Highlights} Shelf Organization
Giving vs Receiving Books

{Highlights} Giving vs Receiving Books
Santa or Not to Santa
{Highlights} Santa or Not to Santa
Love at First Sight

Flash Fiction Friday
Upper Hand
Shame
My Choice

25 Days of Christmas
Christmas in Australia, this is how we do it
Dancing with the Nutcracker and Becoming the Mouse King
What I love about Christmas: Sea, Sun and Family
An Orphan’s Favorite Holiday Things
My Minimalist Christmas
Christmas Across Continents
Krampus: The Yule Lord
Bad Holiday Horror Movies
What Christmas Is to Me
In the air there’s a feeling of Christmas
Melted Snowman Oreo Truffles
The Tudor Twelve Days of Christmas
Best Christmas Movies: New & Old
Christmas in the Philippine Setting
Giving vs Receiving Books
Rockin’ Around the Christmas Tree
Can’t Pick Just One
Gifting the Arts of Christmas
The Infectious Christmas Spirit
Seasonal Magic
Looking Forward to Christmas
Santa or not to Santa
Tinsel, Town, and Toys
A Holiday of Resilience
Nothing but a Silent Night

Updates
500 Followers
Dumbledore’s Army Read-a-Thon
Calendar Girls 2017!


I am taking questions for a Q&A! If you have anything you’ve been dying to ask me, leave it in the comments below!

Also, if you have any topics you’d like me to discuss on my Thursday Discussions, post that in the comments below, too! I’m always looking for more ideas!

12 thoughts on “Monthly Update {December}

  1. Congrats on 500-ish followers, Melanie! I’d say that’s amazing for a year of blogging, so congrats (again) and be super proud of yourself! ❤

    And yay for finding your inspiration! I’ve been itching to write, but have been wondering whether my story needs to be told… so while I figure that out, I’m trying to read (also in a book slump, ughhh). 😂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha! Thank you, CW! ^.^ I am very happy with where I’ve made it and still in shock. :p

      Aw! I can understand being in that situation. Heck, I get in that situation after having written the book. :p But if you wanna chat it out sometime for whatever reason, hit me up! ^.^ I’m always game to talk noveling.

      Happy New Year!

      Like

              1. Okay, that place wouldn’t be “self-publishing,” but it would be small press. Either way, the right answer is what works for YOU. On a plus side, you do have a super cool name for publishing. Nothing boring in your name! 😛

                Like

Leave a comment below! I'd love to hear from you!

