book review
5 Stars, Book Reviews

{REVIEW} Lost Girls by Merrie Destefano


LOST GIRLS
by Merrie Destefano

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary
Pub Date: Jan 3, 2017
Publisher: Entangled Teen
Length: 300 pages
Spoilers: N/A
Goodreads ♦ Amazon($9.99)

I won this book in a giveaway.

 


synopsis

Yesterday, Rachel went to sleep listening to Taylor Swift, curled up in her grammy’s quilt, worrying about geometry. Today, she woke up in a ditch, bloodied, bruised, and missing a year of her life.

She doesn’t recognize the person she’s become: she’s popular. She wears nothing but black.

Black to cover the blood.

And she can fight.

Tell no one.

She’s not the only girl to go missing within the last year…but she’s the only girl to come back. She desperately wants to unravel what happened to her, to try and recover the rest of the Lost Girls.

But the more she discovers, the more her memories return. And as much as her new life scares her, it calls to her. Seductively. The good girl gone bad, sex, drugs, and raves, and something darker…something she still craves—the rush of the fight, the thrill of the win—something she can’t resist, that might still get her killed…

The only rule is: There are no rules.


thoughts

Dark Dark Dark
I LOVED this book (even before I started reading it) just because of how dark it is because, as you all know, I LOVE dark YA and this was exactly what I was looking for. It deals with a lot of realistic traumas and difficulties that people around the world deal with even if we, the general populous, may not realize them. The fact that this book talked about these dark scenarios is just another reason why I love this book so much.

Unpredictable
For anyone who reads my reviews, you’ll know how much predictability bugs me, but this is not one of those books. I kept trying to work out in my head what had happened to Rachel prior to the start of the book, especially when clues started popping up. Yet… I couldn’t figure it out! I was so excited about this because being fully surprised by a book is a rarity and I can’t say it enough that this book surprised me! (in a good way :p)

Exciting
This book was not only fast-paced, but super exciting! I think a lot it had to do with learning things along with Rachel rather than her slowly disclosing information to the reader. Additionally, there is a sense of urgency and anticipation throughout the book, which only heightens as the book goes on. The further I got into the book, the less I wanted to put it down and I wouldn’t have if I didn’t have adult things to do. :p

My inner Bad-Ass
I don’t want to spoil anything here, but this book totally captured my inner bad-ass. I know that absolutely tragic things had happened to Rachel (just from the get-go), and I wouldn’t wish her fate upon anyone, but Phase Two made me want to be Rachel because it just seemed so cool! And I don’t say that about many characters.

Unusual Style
It’s not often that writers take such leaps to write in an usual writing style, especially a non-linear style, mostly because it’s difficult to do. Yet, it was perfectly executed in this story! The pieces of Rachel’s memory that start to come back are at perfect times and come back in unexpected ways. The way in which this was written only added to the already amazing story!

One Negative
One piece I wasn’t super fond of, even as I understand why it was done, was the introduction of other characters. Even half-way through the book, I still couldn’t remember which character was which because they’d all been introduced in a flurry in the beginning. Rachel started to know who they were, but I was still a bit lost until more information was offered about them.



book recommendations
4 thoughts on “{REVIEW} Lost Girls by Merrie Destefano”

Leave a comment below! I'd love to hear from you!

