discussion highlights
Discussion

Discussion Highlights: Romanticizing the Apocalypse

Last Week’s Discussion:
Romanticizing the Apocalypse

Many of the millenials I’ve come across seem to approach the apocalypse in a very jovial, dreamy way. They imagine their lives after apocalypse, saying they’ll live and things will be grand, but none of them actually understand the implications of an apocalypse. They don’t understand what will happen during the apocalypse, much less after apocalypse. So, I shared a few things and the discussioners reacted. Let’s see what they had to say!

Trent said:

“I grew up in an era when there existed a real possibility that 80% of humanity might be snuffed out in a thermonuclear war on any given day. Nobody wanted to survive because radiation sickness is not fun. […] Anyway, no, I would not survive or want to, even if it were just a bunch of zombies.”

Tanja said:

“I would not want to survive a doomsday-like scenario, nor do I fill my precious time reading about or watching various versions of the apocalypse. […] I don’t want to contribute to all the negativity already in existence. I think what we need more of is hope, not despair.”

Deanna said:

“I think you’re right in saying the millennials are the ones that tend to romanticize the end of the world. […] People under 35 think about the end of the world because that’s the future that we see. The pace the world is going on it could happen. We don’t fantasize a metallic future with robots, we see a bleak terrible future.”

While I don’t know the exact ages of the people who commented on this week’s discussion, it is clear that there is a differing view between generations. The younger generation (millenials) believe an apocalypse to be very likely in their lifetimes. On the other hand, the older generation (Gen X and possibly the Baby Boomers) think the millenials are just overly negative and need to find better ways to fill their time. No one knows what the future may hold, but is there anything wrong with wanting to be prepared if an apocalypse does happen?


Check out this week’s discussion on Thursday at 10am EST:
Aspiring ‘Writer’

5 thoughts on “Discussion Highlights: Romanticizing the Apocalypse”

  1. It’s probably just a fascination with independence and freedom from societal… uh… everything. The desire to be apart from everyone else, competent, useful, free- not always something millennials experience in great quantities.

    Mind you, none of us want the depressing thought that we’re likely to be zombie hoard member #178,002 instead of survivor #8. Or the fact that basic amenities and wifi disappear in the apocalypse. But besiiiiiides that…

    Like

    1. Haha! You know what? Maybe I want to be zombie #198,385,938. :p But I do love how few millenials realize their phones, their computers, ALL their tech that runs off electricity will be GONE in an apocalypse. I just like to sit back, watch, and laugh my head off at them. is so maniacal

      And the older generations would say our belief that we’ll survive the apocalypse is because we think ourselves ‘special snowflakes’. >.> Though, I find it hard to find my place in society nowadays what with how corrupt and one-minded society is. So, I have to admit that I, too, have pondered an apocalypse. At least post-apoc I’d be important, right? I got basic survival skills that can help me tiny community in the middle of nowhere. :p

      P.s. Thanks for commenting! The apocalypse is always a fun topic… (Wait. That came out wrong.)

      Like

Leave a comment below! I'd love to hear from you!

