{REVIEW} Stalking Jack the Ripper by Kerri Maniscalco


STALKING JACK THE RIPPER
by Kerri Maniscalco

Genre: Young Adult, Historical Fiction
Pub Date: Sep 20, 2016
Publisher: Jimmy Patterson
Length: 326 pages
Spoilers:
Goodreads ♦ Amazon($6.70)

 


synopsis

Seventeen-year-old Audrey Rose Wadsworth was born a lord’s daughter, with a life of wealth and privilege stretched out before her. But between the social teas and silk dress fittings, she leads a forbidden secret life.

Against her stern father’s wishes and society’s expectations, Audrey often slips away to her uncle’s laboratory to study the gruesome practice of forensic medicine. When her work on a string of savagely killed corpses drags Audrey into the investigation of a serial murderer, her search for answers brings her close to her own sheltered world.


thoughts

Wonderful Character Development
I absolutely adored the way the MC, Audrey, developed over the course of the story. Her changes were subtle and realistic and definitely followed the in accordance with the story. It also made me like her that much more than from the beginning of the story, even as I understood why she was the way she was at the beginning of the story. I loved her by the end!

Who did it?
One thing that really bothered me about this book was how quickly I deduced who the murderer was. This was disappointing because the whole point of the story is trying to figure it out and yet, by page 100, I already knew who the killer was. Perhaps I should have then looked for why, but I didn’t care anymore. All I could think about was why no one else in the book seemed aware of who the killer was, but it was likely due to the manner in which the character was approached that allowed me to determine who they were so early on. (and no, I don’t read mysteries very often. So, it’s not like I’m well practiced in this either.)

So Angry
As a woman, I love reading historical fiction so much because it makes me so angry! I look at the way society used to treat women and the restrictions put upon them, especially when they were of finer stock than the plebians and it makes me so angry! I wish I could jump into the book and tell everyone off. Yet, that’s one of the reasons I love reading historical fiction and this book doesn’t disappoint.

The world building in this book is very good, immersing the reader right back into historical London. It’s complete with its societal expectations, its blatant gender inequality, and wonderful means of subterfuge. Things are so much more interesting when certain, restrictive rules are set upon the characters and it made this story that much more interesting to read!


four


book recommendations
13 thoughts on “{REVIEW} Stalking Jack the Ripper by Kerri Maniscalco

    1. Hee hee! I know all about the Netgalley addiction, but I’ve been doing really well not requesting books at the moment. Got too many physical books to catch up on, but yes! You should definitely find some time to read SJtR! 😀 Hope you enjoy it as much as I did!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Hell yes!!! I loved this book!! And just like you I guessed soon enough who The Ripper was, but i still was waiting for an explanation! I didn’t precisely like the way things turned out at the end (Frankestein much??) but I adored this book!! And Audrey is such a fierce and modern day woman… just yes!! 🙂 🙂
    I need the second book on the series already!! 😂😂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha! Yes, the motivation was a bit strange. I can’t imagine all that realistic given the time period, but embellishments are required some days. At least the emotional motivation was accurate.😊

      And I so do, too! I was hoping for an ARC, but no luck. Just gotta wait… forever! 😜

      Like

  2. What a great premise. Historical fiction is really growing on me, and I especially enjoy reading about strong female characters that have to use smarts to wriggle their way out of restrictions on them purely because they happen to be female. Oh, and Jackaby is another book people recommending. Have you read it?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hee hee! I used to be really big on historical fiction (adult) and I’m so happy I have an opportunity to get back into it. The intrigue is much higher in this genre than others.😊
      And I have! Jackaby was a cute historical fiction. I wouldn’t say the intrigue was as high, but it was fun. I do recommend it as I bought the 2nd book in the series. (That’s usually a good indicator from me. 😉)

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Great review. My thoughts were very much the same when I read this. As soon as the “killer” was introduced I knew who it was. It was the way the killer was introduced that made it easy to figure out. And the way women were treated also made me angry! It made it difficult for the character to know how to be herself!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! Glad you enjoyed my review! 🙂

      And yes, it was quite obvious based upon how the story treated the ‘killer’ in regards to the way it treated other characters. Quite a shame, but I found it wasn’t really necessary to remain entertained by the book.

      I hated how she was treated and LOVED it! The societal expectations were what made her who she was and gave her something to strive to be. Her character development was superb!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I can’t wait for the next book Hunting Prince Dracula. I’m so happy the same characters are in this one. Having them away from her father I think I’ll enjoy Audrey more as a character. Thomas Creswell was a fantastically snarky person 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment below! I'd love to hear from you!

