discussion highlights
Discussion

Discussion Highlights: ARCs vs Final Copy

Last Week’s Discussion:
ARC vs Final Copy

As a book blogger who has finally received a physical ARC or two, I began to ponder the value of said ARCs. I mean… what’s so great about ARCs? They have typos and errors and aren’t as pretty. So… are they really worth all the hub-bub and hassle? Let’s ask the discussioners! 😀

Matxi said:

“It’s true that ARCs are not the final copies, so they usually have mistakes and the covers… well that’s another kind of world!! I still would love to get my hand on them! […] I love the idea of ARCs, but there’s nothing better than a finished copy… so who says you cannot get both?¿? Early copy for reading/reviewing and if it’s good enough then you get your hands on the final copy!! “

Stephanie said:

“I know what you mean…it’s like, “OMG they acknowledged that I’m a book blogger! That means I AM A BOOK BLOGGER!” But we are book bloggers. And Netgalley is still pretty competitive…digital ARCs are often just as hard to get…so I guess it’s the idea that we need physical validation for what we do. “

Meigan said:

“I’m not choosy – if books show up at my house, I’ll take them in any which way or shape. Any bloggers that have reached Physical Copies Being Sent to Them status should be proud! That’s a visible result of the hard work and dedication they’ve put into their blogs and the book community. […] So I guess what I’m saying is – I like arcs, not necessarily for their desirability, but for their cheap and thin pages”

Danielle said:

“I enjoy ARCs when it is a title I am thrilled about enough to not mind having a deadline. With that said, I have moved away from them for that very reason. There comes a bit of responsibility with ARCs (at least for me personally) to properly time reviews. I struggle to properly timing anything. So I have stopped requesting and accepting them.”

Sophie said:

“Well Melanie, living in Europe I doubt i’ll ever receive a “paper” ARC! As it is I’m happy to get an ecopy. I’m not picky really. But I do love receiving them and if I loved them I often organise a giveaway (ecopy mostly). It’s my way to thank the author or the publishing house for their trust. I alsp get to make someone else happy so that’s perfect!”

Tiana said:

“Here’s my take on arcs, I love arcs and I love being able to read and review them, but I do not like physical arcs. (There is a reason why so many bloggers giveaway their arc copies after they read them) something about them ruins the original intended look for the book. Which is why I Prefer e-arcs. They look cleaner to me and if I want a physical copy of the book after I can go purchase it upon release.”

Orangutan said:

“I’m one of those bloggers that very rarely does ARCs cos I just don’t feel like I have the time to do them justice, so I have a lot of respect for the people that can put so much time and effort into doing so many!! I can say that sometimes when I get an ARC on my kindle, I get a little sad sometimes that it doesn’t come with the pretty cover that the book will have- cos even the aesthetic on my kindle scroll not being nice bothers me “

Shanah said:

“I’m a lover of a paperback so ARC’s are just fine by me! And they’re usually the super floppy kind which is my absolute favourite!! Even though ARC’s aren’t finished and there may be mistakes, they hold a special place in my heart. Most of the ones I’ve received still have the same cover and chapter headings so it looks almost exactly like the finished copy. “

Well, it would seem there are arguments for both sides of this one: ARCs are precious, rare, collectible, and prestigious. The paper, artwork, and quality are quite different from final copies, but that makes them both loved and hated among book bloggers. So, perhaps… To each their own? :p (Though, I daresay everyone still wants them, yes?)


Check out this week’s discussion on Thursday at 10am EST:
Judge a Book by its Cover

11 thoughts on “Discussion Highlights: ARCs vs Final Copy”

  1. Great post! I love that we got to hear from a number of people. I tend to prefer e-arcs just because they’re easier to read on the go and it’s easier to bookmark quotes and passages etc to inform the eventual review. But it does make it more difficult to make cute posts for social media 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hee hee! I was very excited by how many people joined the discussion. 🙂 Always makes it more fun!

      Oh. I never thought about marking quotes and what not. I guess I’ve never done that before. :p must write lame reviews Hahaha!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Ahah I loved this! It’s great seeing the different perspectives. For me, I mostly recieve ecopies for ARCs, and although I love getting approved for a title I’m really excited for, having a deadline can be quite frustrating. Haven’t been requesting many ARCs lately for that reason haha. 🙈 Lovely discussion!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yay! I’m glad you like the highlights. 🙂 And thank you for joining the discussion!

      I enjoy getting to read books for free so I don’t mind getting eARCs either, but I, too, have been having scheduling issues. Time to catch up on the books I actually paid for before I request more ARCs. :p

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Wonderful discussion post! loved reading all of the different perspectives, especially since I’ve been thinking a lot about this topic as well. Lately I’ve been falling in line with Danielle’s train of thought…it does get to a point where the deadlines become restricting. Although it’s a great feeling getting those approvals & physical arcs, it is a commitment. Def a ton of Pros but also a few cons 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment below! I'd love to hear from you!

