discussion highlights
Discussion

Discussion Highlights: Multi-Task-Reading

Last Week’s Discussion:
Multi-Task-Reading

There are just not enough hours in the day, and reading is unfortunately a hobby. As such, it doesn’t always make it on to the completed to-do list. But perhaps there is another way. Perhaps we could learn to multi-task while reading?? Let’s see what the discussioners think of this.

Emma said:

“I’ve almost mastered audiobook multi-tasking now I think! […] There are always times when I miss something or get distracted, but i find just going back a minute or so as soon as I notice is usually all it needs.”

Katie said:

“I DO multitask while reading. Mostly in terms of watching my son. For example, right now he is happily practicing with scissors two feet away, and in between each sentence I just glance over to make sure he isn’t cutting his fingers off. […] But as soon as an emergency arises, I can close the book, and pick up later exactly where I left off. No missing anything. 🙂”

Trent said:

“I’ve read a lot about multitasking, and none of it good. Our brains are not designed to multitask. Of course we all do it, but I try to keep it out of reading. Unfortunately, that means I don’t read as much as I’d like.”

Sophie said:

“I excel at readwalking 🙂 So yes it’s like multi tasking while reading. I can cram more than one read hour a day in doing so (I commute). No attack by savage street lamps so far, no fall in big holes or… I could teach master classes LOL”

Raven said:

“I can’t do multi task reading because I can’t concentrate on the story while doing multiple things at the same time.”

Rae said:

“If listen to an audiobook I still follow with the physical book or an ebook. I’ve tried just listening and unless I’m doing something boring like washing dishes, I’ll forget that’s it’s playing and walk away lol”

Adam said:

“A lot depends on who you are, how your mind works. For me, I’m a bit of a single-minded person, so I generally prefer to focus on one thing, though I have been known to read a first time book and a re-read at the same time, or rather, alternating between the two over a period of weeks.”

Orangutan Librarian said:

“It’s super difficult to multitask reading with an audiobook, so I rarely do it (I also rarely listen to audiobooks in general). I think I have to be doing something very stress free that doesn’t require any concentration for me to not have to keep rewinding bits cos I missed what was going on.”

B. L. said:

“Multitasking is one of the worst concepts to ever escape corporate America into the wilds of everyday life. I wrote a whole post about how it hurts writers. Like others have said, there is hard psychology behind why our brains aren’t wired to do this.”

Well, it would seem that while many have attempted to multi-task-read, many have also failed to multi-task-read. What’s more, science seems to suggest that multi-task-reading isn’t even a possibility because of how our brains are wired. A sad fact. Perhaps we’ll have to cut something else out of our schedules to accommodate binge reading? I vote work. ;p


Check out this week’s discussion on Thursday at 10am EST:
Typos

2 thoughts on “Discussion Highlights: Multi-Task-Reading”

  1. At a certain point there also has to be a question of “is this work or fun?” If it’s for fun, then it shouldn’t matter how fast or slowly you do it, as long as you enjoy it. After all, we work so that we may live; we do not live for the sake of working.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ah yes. That is the real question. (Something I’ve been asking myself a lot lately.) But as a reviewer, I have an obligation to read at a certain pace. That’s why I only post one review a week. It allows me time to slow down and enjoy. 😊
      (Americans might live so we can work… >.>)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment below! I'd love to hear from you!

