Updates

June Update

updates

I’m not sure if it was just me, but June felt like a whirlwind of a month. I think a lot happened, but honestly it went by so fast that I can’t even be sure. o.O So, I guess we’ll just have to wrap it up and see how it went, shall we?


Writing

Whelp. I’m querying… >.> Not very well, I might add, but this isn’t a major surprise to me. Querying is a difficult process (and no, JK Rowling is NOT an inspiration. She only got rejected 19 times. Come talk to me after 50. Kay, thanks.) However, as a writer who wants to be traditionally published, it is a necessary process. As such, I am going to work through the rest of my list of prospective agents before I set this novel aside.

In other news, I HAVE STARTED DRAFTING! 😂 Querying always kills my muse. So, I had a hard time writing anything (though not a hard time coming up with new ideas. I came up with 3 in two weeks. The hard part was picking one. 😜) But I have chosen one that called to me the most and I decided to take a different route this time around. I AM HAND DRAFTING. As in, ON PAPER! I know, crazy. My hand is KILLING ME (especially since I was stupid and never went to physical therapy after my surgery. Stupid, foolish child I was.)

But I have about 4 chapters down in this new novel. It’s going to be a YA scifi (DUH!) with a fair amount thriller and suspense. I’m super excited about it and I’m gonna run it by some betas once I get chapter 5 done just to make sure it’s not like… SUPER cliche. 😉


Reading

Reading? Books? What? Just kidding! I did do some reading this month! Okay and a little listening because that’s just easier with my work schedule. I managed to ACTUALLY read 3 books and listen to 2 more. 🙂 Woo!

  
 

And because I’m so bad at reading the books I already have and talking about them and what not, I posted my very first TBR yesterday. Check it out and feel free to join me in the read-a-longs I’ll be participating in!


Blogging

Well… according to my stats, I did rather well this month. 😋 June was my highest month for visitors… EVER! That’s right. I reached almost 800 visitors last month and I’m super excited about that! (Now if only all of those people would follow my blog. 😉 )

Speaking of followers, I passed 700 followers last month! AHHHHH! My blog literally doesn’t exist without you guys (because as much as I say I blog for myself… I really don’t. 😅 If I did, this would be a very different blog.) I blog for you and to interact with you. Soooo

Thank you soooo much!

As stated in my goals post earlier last month, I’m aiming for 1000 followers by the end of 2017. (Among a ton of other goals that I’m actively working towards as well!) But this is one goal I don’t have nearly as much control over as I would like.

1,000     Total
-709 Current
291 Followers in 183 Days!
😱

That being said, I need your help to promote the posts you like and to help me improve my current posts to be more awesome! For starters, I would really love it if everyone could vote in a couple polls I posted earlier this week.

1) How do you feel about non-bookish discussions?
2) How would you like to pick one book from my TBR for me to read/review each month?


Book Reviews
Unhooked by Lisa Maxwell {4 Stars}
Roar by Cora Carmack {4 Stars}
Throne of Glass by Sarah J Maas {4 Stars}
Wildefire by Karsten Knight {3 Stars}
{DNF} Royal Replicas by Michael Pierce

Discussions
Paying Per Page
{Highlights} Paying Per Page
Used Books
{Highlights} Used Books
Multi-Task-Reading
{Highlights} Multi-Task-Reading
Typos
{Highlights} Typos
Notating… in Books!

Miscellaneous
Best Shakespeare Play
Author Q&A with Alisha Klapheke/Plains of Sand & Steel Blog Tour
GATE OF AIR Blog Tour! + Giveaway

Updates
May Update
2017 Goals
Calendar Girls June Wrap-Up
TBR + Read-A-Long!

7 thoughts on “June Update”

  1. I hate querying. I spent months researching, sent out four letters, and heard back from one. No more query letters. So I am about to self publish my second book (if the book of short stories counts) and have two more lined up (or more…) After I have a few out there and (hopefully) good reviews, I may try the traditional way again…

    Anyway, good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes. Querying sucks. I sent out over 30 for my first completed book. Got rejections/no responses. Now I’m trying for my second book to see if it is more marketable as it reads less dystopian than my first. Hopefully that’ll help.

      Personally, I just don’t have the know-how to self-pub. Nor the time for the marketing and everything. I’m a scientist, after all. :p

      And thank you. Best of luck with your books! I hope they do get good reviews and you get to follow the career path you intended. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I am one of the world’s worst marketers, so self-publishing does have a huge downside for me. If you think about, a person who gives up after a handful of query letters most likely doesn’t have the “stick yourself in the limelight” qualities that are needed to be a great self marketer 😉

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Meh. Marketing and querying are different things, in my opinion. Marketing is very self-promo. Buy my book! I’m amazing! Querying is a bit more humble. More pleading. Because the agent holds all the power.

          …and I’m just being weird now.

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Different but the same – both are about as far removed from the creative side of things as you can imagine….

            That being said, I’m in the process of creating a promo video for my upcoming book with my own drawings and paintings and original music written and recorded by me, so I guess there is a way to get creative with marketing. Maybe I should send the video to agents instead of just doing it for my blog 😉

            Liked by 1 person

  2. Good luck querying!! It’s such a painful process. I don’t know from experience but I have a good friend who’s been going through it for over a year now. She shows me the good rejections and the bad rejections. I watch her deflate and build back up again. Sending you all the strength I can find!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Shanah! 😀 This is my second book I’ve queried. So I know what it’s like to go through a round of rejections, but it’s still a tough process. Best of luck to your friend. May she remain strong. 🙂 And thank you for your well wishes. Hopefully they will bring me luck!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment below! I'd love to hear from you!

