book review
2 Stars, Book Reviews

{REVIEW} RoseBlood by A. G. Howard


ROSEBLOOD
by A. G. Howard

Genre: Young Adult, Fairytale Retelling
Pub Date: Jan 10, 2017
Publisher: Harry N. Abrams
Length: 432 pages
Spoilers: N/A
Goodreads ♦ Amazon($12.89)

 


synopsis

In this modern day spin on Leroux’s gothic tale of unrequited love turned to madness, seventeen-year-old Rune Germain has a mysterious affliction linked to her operatic talent, and a horrifying mistake she’s trying to hide. Hoping creative direction will help her, Rune’s mother sends her to a French arts conservatory for her senior year, located in an opera house rumored to have ties to The Phantom of the Opera.

At RoseBlood, Rune secretly befriends the masked Thorn—an elusive violinist who not only guides her musical transformation through dreams that seem more real than reality itself, but somehow knows who she is behind her own masks. As the two discover an otherworldly connection and a soul-deep romance blossoms, Thorn’s dark agenda comes to light and he’s forced to make a deadly choice: lead Rune to her destruction, or face the wrath of the phantom who has haunted the opera house for a century, and is the only father he’s ever known.


thoughtsOo! That Writing!
Let’s be honest. A.G. Howard is an absolutely gorgeous writer. The diction, the flow, the structure. It’s all magnifique! It’s so beautiful and adds such a fantastical wonder to this story that sweeps you up. The way it’s written really embodies that powerful, wondrous music that the story is about. In fact, the writing is so pretty that one might get a little too caught up in it and miss the negative aspects of the novel.

Story-Telling 101
Um… One thing that was less than perfect in Roseblood would be the way it’s told. In fact, if I wasn’t paying so much attention to the book (because I read at the pace of a freakin’ sloth), I might have missed a huge chunk of the important information and the reveals. Why? Because they were just thrown into the middle of these scenes without any build up. They weren’t given as much importance as they should’ve and thus it left each of these pieces of information understated and underwhelming. It was quite a disappointment.

Rune, the MC
When the main character is the least active, least involved character of the entire story… I think you’ve done something wrong and this was exactly what happened. Rune, the brooding, anti-social female protagonist, does absolutely nothing. Everything is told to her. Everything is handed to her. All the plans are made up for her. She does nothing. She’s just… so passive and it really bothered me. I don’t like reading stories where the main character does nothing.

Explanations
Wait! The End? What do you mean, The End? First off, that ending was garbage! Re-do PLEASE!!! It’s such a weak, unfulfilling ending that I knew was gonna be the ending from the beginning, but I didn’t want it. I wanted it to surprise me. I wanted it to shock me. I wanted… an actual ending! That ending was just like: “Crap! We ran out of space! Wrap-up it up in the next 15 pages. GO!” -.-

Worst of all was there were no explanations. The main plot finally hit it’s climax and then… nothing. It’s like it was just skipped over, like it hadn’t been fully thought out so they just decided to leave it out entirely. Awful way to wrap it up because it left so many questions. It left so many loose ends. And it left me feeling like certain things didn’t make any sense because they weren’t explained. Ugh!


spoilers

Death
Oh come on! Really? That ending? But of course that ending. Why? Because the original story didn’t end well and so this one should? Psh! No. I wanted them to die. Both of them. All of them. Everyone? Yes, everyone. I can’t honestly say there is a single person in this book that I wanted to live. Nope. Death to everyone. Mwahahaha!



book recommendations
19 thoughts on “{REVIEW} RoseBlood by A. G. Howard”

  1. I totally agree with you! I was so excited for this book but despite the lovely writing and some really great aspects of the story, a lot of it rather disappointed me :/ You’re so on point about Rune and it was a bit too easy to guess at things (I’m not a huge fan of too much predictability in books).
    Anyway, good book, but not a favorite book for me.
    Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Angela! I’m glad you liked my review (as I always am. 😊) And yes. It really is such a shame that the writing was soooo beautiful while the actual story was just sub-par. It could’ve been such an AMAZING book if the story had matched the quality of writing. Oh well. You win some. You lose some. I still loved SPLINTERED by A. G. Howard. Maybe her next series will be better. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m kind of iffy about this due to the cover. I always judge the cover first and it’s a good one, but then again you were disappointed with it. Decisions, decisions. I read another book that had the same issues and dropped it, so it might be best to steer away from this. On another note, Dream a Little Dream has to go on the tbr.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know, right?! The cover is gorgeous! A little confusing, honestly because I thought it was someone else than who it is, but it is a good cover for the story. Sadly, the actual story just didn’t meet my standards, especially for having read this author in the past. :/ A shame.

      I do highly recommend you read Dream a Little Dream though. MUCH better story! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Okay this review makes me feel better about considering giving up on it. I’m mainly considering giving up because I am just so over that dusty rose font and how it starts to just make everything melt together on the page. But I’m also just not really into the MC and you really articulated my problems with her.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Hahahaha! I’m not sure how I should feel about my review making you less guilty about DNFing. :p But I can understand. I had higher hopes from this book and, honestly, if the MC had been more active, it would’ve been a VERY different story. :/ Either way, you have my permission to DNF. :p

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment below! I'd love to hear from you!

