book review
3 Stars, Book Reviews

{REVIEW} Blackhearts by Nicole Castroman


BLACKHEARTS
by Nicole Castroman

Genre: Young Adult, Historical Fiction
Pub Date: Feb 9, 2016
Publisher: Simon Pulse
Length: 384 pages
Spoilers: N/A
Goodreads ♦ Amazon($7.99)

I read this ebook for free on Riveted thanks to Simon & Schuster.


synopsis

When Edward “Teach” Drummond, son of one of Bristol’s richest merchants, returns home from a year at sea, he finds his life in shambles. Betrothed to a girl he doesn’t love and sick of the high society he was born into, all Teach wants is to return to the vast ocean he calls home. There’s just one problem: he must convince his father to let him leave and never come back.

Following the death of her parents, Anne Barrett is left penniless. Though she’s barely worked a day in her life, Anne takes a job as a maid in the home of Master Drummond. Lonely days stretch into weeks and Anne longs to escape the confines of her now mundane life. How will she ever achieve her dream of sailing to Curaçao—her mother’s birthplace—when she’s trapped in England?

From the moment Teach and Anne meet, they set the world ablaze. Drawn together by a shared desire for freedom, but kept apart by Teach’s father, their love is as passionate as it is forbidden. Faced with an impossible choice, Teach and Anne must decide whether to chase their dreams and leave England forever—or follow their hearts and stay together.


thoughts

Predictable
Maybe I really am starting to read too many books because I find quite a few of them to be predictable nowadays, and this is one of them. 😦 I mean, the plot is pretty obvious from the synopsis (but I never re-read synopses before I start a book because I like a surprise.) Unfortunately… there wasn’t much surprise in this book. The lack luster character interactions mingled with their stereotypical personalities left me sorely unimpressed.

Cute, but Childish
For all the predictability of the story, it was a cute romance. And yes, it is a romance. There is no action in this book. There are also no scenes that take place on the water and… for a story that was supposed to be based on Blackbeard, I was quite confused.

Still, I found it to be a cute, fast-paced (albeit slightly unrealistic) romance story. I was able to read through it quickly and there was no eye-rolling involved (as is often the case when I try to read romance.) Additionally, the societal standards of the time-period offered a different angle to the story, and if a story is going to be romance, it better be historical romance. Only way to go. :p

Sum it all Up
So… that ending felt like a detached, scatter-brained goldfish attempting to throw things together at the last second. The pacing was wrong. The ending lacked the appropriate intensity for me to actually care about what was happening. It was like… the author ran out of space and just… ended the book in a matter of a couple scenes. It was extremely disappointing and didn’t do the rest of the cute romantic story justice.


three


finish the series

book recommendations
7 thoughts on “{REVIEW} Blackhearts by Nicole Castroman”

  1. Interesting story, though it’s sad that it doesn’t have much scenes over the seas considering both protagonists have dreams of sailing. I like historical romance (or rather, I only really like historical romance and not so much modern ones), but I don’t feel like reading this one. 😅
    Thanks for the review!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hahaha! I’m the same way! Romance is only allowed to be in historical fiction novels for me, but sadly… this just didn’t come up to par, which is sad. It sounds like the sequel is much better, but… this first book leaves a bad taste in my mouth. A shame. And I don’t you’re missing out on much if you skip this one. 😉 Plenty of better historical romances out there!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Yeahhhhh this book definitely has some issues. I read it after meeting Nicole at her book launch party and she was so awesome that it probably turned into bias when I read this book haha I really enjoyed it but deep down I knew it had a lot of problems that I was just refusing to acknowledge. I do think that the sequel is a lot better though. Then again I heard somewhere that she pantsed Blackhearts and actually took a lot of time to plot out Blacksouls/the rest of the trilogy. Idk I also have a weakness for pirates soooo there’s some further bias haha
    Anyway, great review as always! Sorry it disappointed you though :/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Angela. I’m glad you enjoyed my review and I know the feeling. I really wanted to enjoy this book. I love the time period and pirates (though, there was very little pirating going on in this book). And I quite enjoyed the character backstories, and setting (I read historical fiction SPECIFICALLY for the scandals. Hahahaha!) But I just was unimpressed with the book. Now that you mention it, I can definitely tell this book was pantsed, but isn’t that what editing is for?? o.O Oh well. Perhaps I’ll still give Blacksouls a chance. We’ll have to consult with my TBR. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment below! I'd love to hear from you!

