{Mini-Review} Annihilation by Jeff Vandermeer

Note: I’m testing a new review style. Please vote in the poll below to let me know what you think. Thank you! ^.^

Annihilation by Jeff Vandermeer

This book was recommended to me by my lovely sister-in-law, Morgan Bernard, not because she enjoyed it necessarily, but because she found it strange. And boy! Is it strange! 0.0 But first let me give you the rundown.

In ‘Annihilation’, expedition teams are sent into Area X, a place consumed entirely by nature, which hasn’t been touched by humans for decades. Yet, there is something strange about Area X. All the previous expeditions, excluding the first, have died in mysterious ways: mass suicide, turned against each other and murdered, traveled back through the barrier with no explanation as to how. Sometimes mysteries are too enticing. Thus, our twelfth expedition and our narrator: the biologist.

thoughtsWhile the book was written in a unique style, never giving away the narrator’s actual name, I think it added more to the secrecy and mystery of Area X rather than took away from it. However, it makes it easy to not become attached to the narrator. Though, she does a quite a bit of that on her own.

Meanwhile, I enjoyed the constant offer of strange phenomenon within Area X. It kept my interest piqued. I wanted to know more. I wanted to understand. I wanted answers, but this is where the author left me, never fully answering my questions. This is where the ‘strange’ part comes in.

The author showed me all the details of the inner-workings of Area X, or at least the parts that interest our narrator, but even so, it’s muddled. There are no clear answers, leaving me with a sense of receiving no answers at all. It’s maddening, really! *pulls hair out* And the lack of definite answers to my questions felt like a cop-out on the author’s part, like they were too lazy or unsure about what was really in their world and they chose not to define it. -.- <– this is me glaring at the author.

Even so, when it comes right down to it, the book was fascinating. I loved the world building and the way the plot developed: always keeping me on my toes. The characters interacted in abnormal, yet extraordinary ways and each one of them kept me drawn in, wanting– No. Craving to know more. Yet, I left my review at 3 stars because of this resolution that felt nothing like a resolution.three


Check back at 1pm EST today for my traditional, full-style review!

Leave a comment below! I'd love to hear from you!

