Calendar Girls

Best Shakespeare Play

Welcome back to the sixth month of Calendar Girls! It’s a monthly blog event co-hosted by Flavia and myself, and designed to ignite bookish discussions among readers. Calendar Girls was inspired by the 1961 Neil Sedaka song, Calendar Girl, (because I’m an oldies fanatic. 😛) For more information, click here!


June’s Theme:
Best Shakespeare Play!

Hmm… There are quite a few options for this, many of which I’m not even familiar. :p And even though I took a British Literature class in high school, we focused on authors other than Shakespeare, which I enjoyed. However, it makes this a bit worrisome as my knowledge (and understanding) of Shakespeare’s plays is limited. Still, I daresay that I have found one I consider to be the best. Drum roll, please!!!

A Midsummer Night’s Dream
by (duh) William Shakespeare

Perhaps it seems awfully cliche of me to pick such a well known play by Mr. William Shakespeare. After all, I’m the host. I should be picking obscure titles, yes? Broadening the minds and awarenesses of my fellow Calendar Girls? Well… I failed. Royally! Haha!

And while I may not necessarily think this is the best play Shakespeare ever wrote in regards to capability and what not. I think this play is the best because of how purely and utterly insane it is. If you don’t already know, it’s a comedy. It takes place in a forest with lovers and fairies and is just full of tricks and atrocious screw-ups.

My favorite part about this play? I acted in it! 😀 That’s right! Back in college, I was cast as Titania, Queen of the faeries. It was absolutely horrible! I think I’m rather good, but I do have my limits and this may not be quite the role for me. Still, it was a lot of fun and introduced me to a play I hadn’t actually read before. So, I was excited all the same [and it’s great to put on my acting resume. 😉 ]

Have you read Shakespeare’s A Midsummer Night’s Dream yet?
If you haven’t, you should!


Calendar Girls’ picks for Best Shakespeare Play!

Flavia – A Midsummer Night’s Dream
Shanah – The Merchant of Venice
DeannaHamlet
MandyMuch Ado About Nothing
LaurenTwelfth Night
ThaiA Midsummer Night’s Dream
Darque DreamerA Midsummer Night’s Dream
SophieRomeo & Juliet

 

 


July’s Theme:
Best Fairytale Retelling

17 thoughts on “Best Shakespeare Play”

  1. You’re right about how utterly insane it is Melanie but that’s one of the reasons I love it so much too. Puck still remains one of my favourite characters.I love that you acted in it! I’ve always wanted to be in a Shakespeare play haha. I think you’d enjoy some of his other comedies – remember if you’ve seen 10 things I hate about you then you are already familiar with the taming of the shrew!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Bahahaha I guess we both failed as hosts! Oh well, we did pick the ones we liked best, which was the whole point of this month’s theme 😉 I’m actually quite happy that we picked the same book for once, because I didn’t think it would EVER happen, and this might be the only time it ever will happen, just because we don’t read a lot of the same books, hehe. But anyway, great pick, my fellow host 😉 bahaha

    Liked by 2 people

    1. BAHAHAHAHAH! Well, you got lucky, because if I could remember Antony & Cleopatra better, I likely would have picked that one. But it’s been too long since I read it.

      And why on Earth would you think we wouldn’t pick the same book? 😉 I mean… I’m not that… okay. Maybe I’m super critical and you like just about everything. Hahaha! Or, at the very least, you’re not as harsh as I am when it comes to rating books. I just… expect more because I know we’re capable of better, you dig? :p

      And I’m glad we failed together! Thrive together! Die together! plays powerful, heroic music in the background

      Liked by 1 person

    1. It seems to be a popular one this month. :p Though, I think it’s one most commonly used in school and theater productions. So, it’s understandable. Were I better acquainted with some of William’s other works, I might have picked another one. I was on the fence about Antony and Cleopatra, but I just don’t remember enough, sadly.

      Thanks for stopping by and glad you’re excited for next month!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment below! I'd love to hear from you!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.