Days of Christmas, Discussion

{Discussion} Santa or not to Santa

discussion


To Santa or not to Santa?

advent22Most people around the world know Santa. He’s the large, jolly man who delivers presents on Christmas Eve, and it’s magic that allows him to visit every house, squeeze down every chimney, and deliver all the presents in one night. That’s not all we know about him, though.

He also lives at the North Pole with Mrs. Clause, all the little toy-making elves, and his reindeer. Most importantly: he spends the other 364 days of the year making a list and checking it twice! He’s gonna find out who’s naughty or nice! ♫♫ This list allows him to determine which good little boys and girls get presents and which naughty boys and girls get coal in their stockings (or beatings from Krampus depending on where you live! :p )

But in recent years, the idea of Santa has become a bit of a ‘no-no’ for parents. Why? Because many believe it encourages lying to their children and harms the parent-child relationship because of this ‘lying.’ As such, many parents have started to move away from the tradition of Santa and simply give presents from mom and dad.

So, should more people stop believing in Santa?

If we say ‘yes’

If we’re gonna stop believing in Santa and forgo the magic that surrounds Christmas as a child, then we would have to stop believing in all imaginary creatures: the Easter Bunny, Jack Frost, the Toothfairy, and Disney Princesses. Because none of those exist. So, why should we lie to our children that they do exist, but Santa doesn’t? How would we draw the line on which imaginary creatures do and don’t exist?

And what happens when your child is the only one who doesn’t believe in Santa and ruins it for all the other kids?

If we say ‘no’

If we continue to teach our children to believe in Santa, we teach them to believe. If children grow up having nothing to believe in, nothing to fill their world with magic and imagination, are we possibly stunting their imaginations and wonder? After all, who hasn’t seen or remembered the look on a child’s face when they see the presents magically appear under the Christmas tree? Who hasn’t enjoyed listening to them ask ‘how did Santa know I want this?’

Some people may see teaching their children to believe in Santa and one day tell them the truth is lying. They believe it creates a fissure in the parent-child relationship, but I don’t think so. There are plenty of people, hundreds, thousands, millions who grew up believing in Santa and who were one day told the truth by their parents (or found it out themselves, the little devils), who still have wonderful relationships with their parents. So, I don’t think this is a reason to starve children, innocent, blissfully-unaware children of the wonder and magic of Christmas.

But this is just my opinion. What’s yours? Do you want to teach your children to believe in Santa? What are some of the pros and cons you’ve heard of?


And check out my discussion from last week:
Giving vs Receiving Books

10 thoughts on “{Discussion} Santa or not to Santa”

  1. I was one of those kids who was devastated when I found out Santa wasn’t real (aka a “real person”). For a while it was very upsetting and I did go through the whole “why does it exist, it’s a lie!” phase. Apparently Mum and Dad hadn’t done the Santa thing until I was in school as I was taught about Santa by classmates and Mum and Dad didn’t want me to be “that kid” who spoiled it for everyone because she couldn’t keep her mouth shut about the truth.
    Over time I came to understand that Santa is a representation of the Christmas/Holiday spirit, so it doesn’t matter if he’s physically real or not. Something that’s been doing the rounds lately is a way of explaining the Santa thing to kids without breaking hearts: http://twentytwowords.com/heres-a-genius-way-to-break-the-santa-news-without-breaking-your-kids-heart/?utm_source=facebook&utm_medium=syndication&utm_campaign=boredomtherapy
    P.S. I don’t have kids but I want to have them someday.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for sharing that link. That is quite a unique way to break the reality of Santa to a child and incite them a ideal of giving, which will follow them throughout their lives. Though, as hard as it may sound, that may not work for everyone. Like the poor family in the story, not everyone may have the money to be a Santa, but I do like the sentiment. Thank you.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Great post, Melanie! I would definitely Santa just because I remember what a happy time my life was when I believed in Santa and I would want my kids to experience the same thing. Life is too short, and I think that it’s very important for children to have time to be CHILDREN. We spend most of our lives as adults, so we should really cherish that time when we and our little ones are meant to be care-free and innocent. Also, there is the factor that if you tell your children that Santa isn’t real from the start, or a younger age than usual, they may spoil it for those friends they have at school, who still do believe.

    I think that we are very fortunate to live in a part of the world where we have the time and liberty to believe in fairytale things, as well as discuss them, and I am very grateful for this and aware that other parts of the world are not so fortunate.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That is a great point you bring up, Flavia, about children needing to be children. I can’t even count the number of times I wish I could go back to being a kid. It was such a wonderful time of innocence, imagination, and carefreeness, and to take that away from a child just isn’t quite fair. Children shouldn’t be forced to grow up too fast. Especially because, as you said, we already spend most of our lives as adults.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I think there is a clear difference between lying to your children and maintaining their innocent imagination. The fact the people are creative later on in life is due to having the chance to grow creatively when they were children. Part of that is by believing in things like Santa, Easter Bunny, fairies. I don’t think the children look at it as “mommy and daddy lied to me” but instead, “mommy and daddy still believe in these things as an adult”. Showing your children it is safe to have an imagination even as an adult allows your child to keep that imagination into adulthood.

    At least that’s what I believe. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you for sharing, D. I completely agree with you. I can’t remember thinking ‘oh. mom and dad lied.’ Apparently all I asked was: “So… does this mean the Toothfairy isn’t real, either?” Haha! That was all I cared about and I consider myself to have a very large imagination. More importantly, it was because of that magic that I loved Christmas so much as a child. I can’t imagine what Christmas would have been like without Santa.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment below! I'd love to hear from you!

