July Update

updates

Writing

Still querying… Hahahaha! This is such a long and tedious process of sending out emails and then… waiting and waiting and waiting. You spend all this time writing the novel and then when it comes right down to it, you have absolutely no power or control over it once it’s out in the world. You have no control over whether it succeeds or how well it does. You just… keep writing and pray that people love it as much as you do. That’s where I’m at.

And as horrible and dark as that may sound (because I definitely had a melancholy tone in my head when I wrote it), I’m actually not too broken up about it. Why? Because I made it past a first round reader at an agency. An agent received my actual query, read it, and sent back aย personal rejection. To non-writers, that sounds absurd. However, that is a step in the right direction. It means my query has potential. Now, I just need to see if it’s the agent that didn’t like the story or the story isn’t right yet. And only time and other agents will tell me that. ๐Ÿ™‚

Until then, I have been trudging along on this new novel I brought up last month. As I stated, I sent out the first few (unfortunately unedited) chapters of a brand new scifi I’m writing to one of my betareaders. She had such an amazing, instant, exuberant response that I was blown away. (I still have to re-read the email to make sure I didn’t imagine it. Hahahahaha!) But she liked it and I’m now up to Chapter 9. Maybe I’ll have a first draft by September? One can only hope. :p


Reading

Woooo! You know how last month I said was I gonna try and focus on books I already have to read and start hacking away at my physical TBR? With an axe?ย ๐Ÿ˜‚ย Well, I stuck to that and I’ve made some progress. WEEEE! I got through 3 physical books and 2 audiobooks (because work is boring. ๐Ÿ˜)

ย ย 
ย 


Blogging

๐Ÿ˜ฒย Holy woah! I just checked my stats and I received over 600 comments on my blog this month! JUST THIS MONTH! That’s over twice as many as any other month prior to this. Thank you all so much for your amazing comments, your amazing opinions, and for being so open to chatting with me!ย THIS is what I want out of my blog.ย ๐Ÿ˜ƒ

AND I reached almost 1000 visitors in July! DANG! What was I doing last month that was so amazing and how I do repeat it? Bahahahaha! Just kidding. I don’t care too much about stats, but they are a nice way to track my growth, which has been exponential this year. Speaking of…

I finished June with 709 followers. My goal for the year is 1000, which was still pretty high considering how few days are left in 2017, but! I stand corrected. In just 34 days 72 new people followed my blog. ARE YOU KIDDING ME?! That’s more than two a day, guys! That’s amazing. Maybe… maybe I really can reach my goal by 2018?ย ๐Ÿ˜€

Thank you soooo much!

1,000 ย  ย  Total
-781 Current
219 Followers in 148 Days!

Also, last month, I asked you all to vote in a couple polls. (Didn’t get nearly as many votes as I was hoping for, but a few is better than none.ย ๐Ÿ™‚) And what those polls decided for me was that after I burn through my predetermined discussions and after I make it through my current review schedule, I’m gonna start branching out.

I may start posting some non-bookish/literary discussions (open for suggestions.ย ๐Ÿ˜‰) And I may start letting you all pick one book from my physical TBR for me to review for the month. But for now, I got a few books/topics to throw at you. Hope you’re looking forward to them as much as I am!

P.s. Because I have been listening to soooo many audiobooks lately, I’ve decided to stop bogging down my Sunday book reviews with them. If I left my audiobooks on my Sunday review schedule, I’d literally NEVER get to my physical books until like… 2018! Hahaha! So, from now on, I will be posting audiobook reviews on Wednesdays! Enjoy!ย ๐Ÿ˜„


Book Reviews
Lost Boy by Christina Henry {2 Stars}
Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton {4 Stars}
The Lie Tree by Frances Hardinge {3 Stars}
RoseBlood by A. G. Howard {2 Stars}
Frostblood by Elly Blake {2 stars}

Discussions
{Highlights} Notating in Books
DNFing
{Highlights} DNFing
Sub-Genre Abyss
{Highlights} Sub-Genre Abyss
Book Length
{Highlights} Book Length
Manga

Miscellaneous
Best Fairytale Retelling
Lying… to Friends
Calendar Girls Read-a-Long Chap 1-7

Calendar Girls Read-a-Long Chap 8-13
Calendar Girls Read-a-Long Chap 14-19
Calendar Girls Read-a-Long Chap 20-24
The Dragons of Nova Blog Tour + Q&A w/ Elise Kova
Sunshine Blogger Award
Unique Blogger Award #2 & #3

Updates
June Update
I’m doing a Thing! A collab thing!
Book Signing w/ VE Schwab!!!
Hallo-WE-en Event!
Calendar Girls July Wrap-Up!

11 thoughts on “July Update

  1. Congrats! I’m still toying around with my blog but I hope to be as successful as you someday!

    I’m also currently querying my novel. I’ve actually just finished going over a second novel with one of my beta readers that has me super pumped but well yeah I hate querying haha It’s a lot of time and hope on a slim chance that an agent will think your book is worth their attention and dedication. But unless I want to self-publish then I’ve just got to keep trying. Seeing a book I’ve written on the shelves of bookstores is a dream of mine and I hope one day I’ll write something worthy of it! ๐Ÿ˜Š
    And I LOVE reading your posts so I know I’m going to love whatever novel you publish (because I know you’re going to publish your own book one day) ๐Ÿ˜Ž

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Awww! Angelaaaa! You’re so sweet! ๐Ÿ˜˜ Thank you so much for all of your support and I’m sure you will reach blogging success someday. It just takes time and dedication and a love for what you’re doing, of course. :p I’m still not nearly as successful as many bloggers out there, but I also don’t put too much stock in numbers. I care about my readers. I care about hearing their opinions and that’s what makes blogging worth it for me. ๐Ÿ˜Š

      Ah, yes. The query trenches. I don’t have the money, the where-with-all, or the time to dedicate to self-publishing my books so it’s not something I would ever consider. (I have a friend who is self-pubbed and we chat a lot. Very insightful.) And I also want to traditionally publish as a form of acceptance. I want someone to rally for my book as much as I do and want to try and publish it, you know what I mean? ๐Ÿ˜› This is my second novel I’ve queried and I’ve learned SOOO much in writing a second book and QUERYING a second book. So, while I’m still not published, my writing has improved. That’s important too because I’d hate to get published and look back on my book and go: “OH MY GOD! WHY DID I LET THIS GET PUBLISHED?!” HAhahaha! ๐Ÿ˜‚

      But if you ever want to chat querying, writing, editing, or just need someone to vent to, I’m here for you. ๐Ÿ™‚ We writers gotta stick together. Best of luck to you on both fronts!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. July was an insane month for me. :p I’m hoping August will be a little more lax. I don’t think my brain can handle any more chaos. Hee hee! (But I know it’ll be worse. :p ) But thank you for the well wishes. I hope your August goes well, as well!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I am good friends with a person who has been going through the query process for years. It’s a task I’m not sure I’m up to! But she shows me her rejections every once in a while and even though they’re rejections, the personal ones offer her hope and usually come with some constructive criticism that helps her strengthen her MS. I hope things happen for you soon!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. She gets criticism?! Aw man! I wish I got some of that. :p Mine are just like: “I like blah blah blah, but it’s not what I’m looking for. I’m being selective, etc, etc.”

      And thank you! I just submitted to PitchWars so maybe I’ll get lucky through there. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. She’s had a few that were close. So close. And they gave her specific things why it didn’t work. But I think she is entering into her 3 or 4th year querying over this one book. It will happen! She submitted to pitchwars for the first time yesterday too and said she felt like she was going to puke! Lol

        Seriously, best of luck! I hope something amazing comes out of pitch wars!

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Wow. Querying the same book for 3 or 4 years. That’s… pretty intense. I found writing a new book actually helped me to hone my writing craft better than re-revising the same book over and over again, but to each their own. I have a friend who is working on one series with all her heart. ๐Ÿ™‚ (I just have story-idea ADD. :p)

          Aww! Thank you, Shanah! One can only hope. ๐Ÿ™‚

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment below! I'd love to hear from you!

